Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 2, 2010, 03:35 PM   #1
alexxk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
How to transfer stuff from one mac to another

I have a macbook pro with lots of music, photos e other files and I'm buying today a new iMac and I would like to know if there's a way to transfer all data that I have on my macbook to my iMac.... i'm not willing to pay for programs and I don't have time capsule or any other external drive...

Thanks
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2010, 03:43 PM   #2
kappaz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Use migration assistant
kappaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2010, 03:47 PM   #3
Spike88
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I'm no expert but if I had to move data files from one machine to another, I would use a USB stick or external USB connected Hard disk. Currently, I have a few 8 GB sticks laying around. Would use it.

But if more then 30 Gigs of data, I would buy an external Hard disk. After moving the files over to the new Mac (via USB connection), I would then configure that USB external Hard Disk to be a backup storage device. Using Time Machine, I would backup up the data files I wanted. Thus, win-win in the long run.

Buying an external Hard Disk is expensive (re: $100 or so) but in the long run (as an attached backup storage device), its well worth it...

Good luck

.

Last edited by Spike88; Aug 2, 2010 at 03:54 PM.
Spike88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2010, 03:54 PM   #4
alexxk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kappaz View Post
Use migration assistant
Thanks...

I'll try that....
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:38 AM   #5
pterosaur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexxk View Post
Thanks...

I'll try that....
I used it from my old G4 tower to my new Intel MacBook, and it was really smooth. But it takes a lot of time. Getting the right Firewire cable could be a bit of a problem--I found a very reasonably priced one at Target with a selection of adapters for various kinds of Firewire ports.
pterosaur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:52 AM   #6
OverSpun
macrumors 6502a
 
OverSpun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Occupying Mars
Its been a while since I've done this.... but I'm pretty sure you can use time machine backups on your old computer, and itll transfer all your programs and everything.

I'll be doing this same thing from one of my computers into my i7 soon.
__________________
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
OverSpun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:54 AM   #7
yzc717
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
is a firewire 800 cable does any good? mbp ->imac
yzc717 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 03:44 AM   #8
CXsjr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzc717 View Post
is a firewire 800 cable does any good? mbp ->imac
Yep, it should work! Plug your MBP into the iMac using the FW800 cable, power up the MBP whilst holding down the 'T' key until the drive of your MBP appears on the desktop of your iMac. You can then open that drive in finder and drag files across to your iMac drive as appropriate.

I personally won't be using the magration assistant when my new iMac arrives as I find stupid things happen like files open to fit the screen of the system you're backing up from. Also, it's a great time to have a good clear out and get rid of all those files you don't need!
__________________
If only closed minds came with closed mouths ....
CXsjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:17 PM   #9
PatriotInvasion
macrumors 65816
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
I just switched from a MacBook Pro to a new iMac and used my Time Capsule to get all of my files on the new machine. Assuming you don't have one, buying an external hard drive will make the transfer fast and easy while also giving you a way to continuously back up via Time Machine.
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 6 Plus [64GB, space gray], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:37 PM   #10
PatriotInvasion
macrumors 65816
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
I just switched from a MacBook Pro to a new iMac and used my Time Capsule to get all of my files on the new machine. Assuming you don't have one, buying an external hard drive will make the transfer fast and easy while also giving you a way to continuously back up via Time Machine.
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 6 Plus [64GB, space gray], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:42 PM   #11
dgookin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Just made the transition myself. You're prompted to transfer the information as part of the iMac setup process. The three options I remember are over the network (horribly slow), via a Firewire cable (which I didn't have), or from a Time Machine backup.

All files, programs, and settings from my old Mac were copied over, though I still had to make several adjustments to the preferences in many programs. iTunes must be authorized for the new Mac. You'll need to deactivate and reactivate any Adobe software you own. Other minor burps will need to be addressed.

Enjoy your new iMac! I'm enjoying mine.
dgookin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2010, 04:41 PM   #12
81Tiger04
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I just got a new MBP and wanted to transfer all of my music and photos over from my iMac (~ 150 GB). Anyway, I used Migration Assistant and followed the on-screen steps. The only part that I was unsure about was the pop-up that alerted me that the 2 user names involved were the same. Not really knowing what to do, I made up a name for the iMac, selected what I wanted to migrate, and waited a few hours while it all went to my MacBook Pro.

Fast forward to the present moment ... The files have migrated. I can tell because 1) the huge drop in open HD space and 2) I can locate the files. The problem is that they are under the user name I created for my iMac, not the user name for my MacBook Pro. Also, I can't access the files as I don't have permission.

What do I do? How do I get them to my user name?
81Tiger04 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 01:03 AM   #13
CXsjr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Tiger04 View Post
IThe only part that I was unsure about was the pop-up that alerted me that the 2 user names involved were the same. Not really knowing what to do, I made up a name for the iMac ....
I'm no expert on thiese kinds of things but I'm guessing this is where you went wrong. I think that's only a warning in case you didn't intend the user names to be the same.

I believe you should have kept the same name on the new mchine as what you had on the old.

Where you go from here, I'm not sure, but perhaps a clean install and try again with the same name, maybe?
__________________
If only closed minds came with closed mouths ....
CXsjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 12:39 AM   #14
fteter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Migration Assistant

+1 for the hard drive option. I personally found Migration Assistant to be a pain to use, and it left me with a small boatload of tweaks and issues to deal with. Admittedly, my configuration is not typical, but I do wish I'd popped for an external hard drive rather than using MA...would have saved me time (money) overall.
fteter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 02:04 AM   #15
nobias
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
For a power user the best way is to move the files yourself. Strange things happen when you use automated/automatic solutions that annoy me.
nobias is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 03:51 AM   #16
blinkin182
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Switzerland
Used migration assistant last night. Although it took pretty much all night to transfer. Everything seems to be working very well.
__________________
user since MacOS 6-Mac SE/30
iMac 27" 3.4 Ghz Core i7, 1 TB FusionDrive, 16 GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 680MX 2GB, Refurb MacBook Pro 13" (2011); iPad (3rd Gen) 32 GB, iPhone 4S 32GB
blinkin182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 11:06 AM   #17
timkingkraw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
hey, i have a separate question. but similar in that its about information transfers. i hope someone here can help me. i want to use my external hard drive to transfer some stuff, videos and various other large file-size projects, from my computer to another persons mac.

i have been using a 500G external drive with my imac. but i've partitioned the drive so that i can use it for both storage and for my macs time machine feature. since it is assigned to my mac's time machine will there be any problems if/when i plug it into someone else's mac to use the storage part of the drive? would it overwrite any of their information? would their computer overwrite the stuff on my drive? would it just not show up? i haven't tried yet, and i'm nervous about it because i don't want to make a mistake and lose everything i have saved.
timkingkraw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 11:39 AM   #18
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by timkingkraw View Post
will there be any problems if/when i plug it into someone else's mac to use the storage part of the drive? would it overwrite any of their information? would their computer overwrite the stuff on my drive? would it just not show up? i haven't tried yet, and i'm nervous about it because i don't want to make a mistake and lose everything i have saved.
There won't be a problem. The TimeMachine backups are keyed to the specific computer so will be safe. The other computer may ask if you want to use your drive for TimeMachine (if TimeMachine isn't running already) -- just say "No".

I'd suggest having two externals, with TimeMachine using a dedicated drive. Just to avoid confusion.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Yosemite Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV in the household.
talmy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 12:15 AM   #19
Anthony8720
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
My advice, boot the computer initially and go through the setup process. Skip the data transfer part and just get to the desktop. Then insert the install disk and restart the computer while holding "c". Open disk utility in the utilities menu. Delete the partition you created on initial start-up. Reinstall osx. On start-up this time, perform the data transfer. Once complete, you'll boot directly to the same desktop as your previous Mac. Then, run software update. Then install the applications from the applications install disk that came with your Mac. Now your done, and all your data will always transfer well if you do it this way. Sometimes migration assistant fails due to differences in software versions in iLife, and this prevents that from happening.
Anthony8720 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2010, 11:33 PM   #20
mojohojo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Sorry to hijack the thread, i have a similar small question.

Just got my new mbp, and looking to transfer 'files' (not apps, and other left over junk accumulated) from my old macbook via Time Machine on external hard drive with Migration Assistant.
1.I want to keep the same username, so i should create the same name on my new mbp and then use Migration assistant which would copy files over?
2.Does this copy over profiles e.g. keychain access, safari/firefox bookmarks, iPhone backups. if not - how?
mojohojo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2010, 10:00 AM   #21
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojohojo View Post
1.I want to keep the same username, so i should create the same name on my new mbp and then use Migration assistant which would copy files over?
I'd suggest having the initial account on the new MBP be a recovery account -- one you can log into if your main account gets corrupted. Then use Migration Assistant to copy over your account from the old system -- it will have the same name on the new system.

Quote:
2.Does this copy over profiles e.g. keychain access, safari/firefox bookmarks, iPhone backups. if not - how?
Yes.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Yosemite Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV in the household.
talmy is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I transfer my Windows stuff easily? bluewomble88 MacBook Pro 2 Jan 19, 2014 02:36 PM
Faster way to transfer stuff too and from HD? Atypical MacBook Pro 11 Sep 18, 2012 03:48 PM
In need of Advice - transfer my stuff over to a new MBP elberto1 Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 28, 2012 12:52 PM
made new account how do i transfer my stuff over? zyr123 MacBook Pro 0 Jun 11, 2012 12:02 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC