Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 10, 2010, 08:37 PM   #1
phenixdragon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
iTunes MP4 File Limit?

I started using Handbrake this week to convert my Blu-rays over to smaller files to use to stream over my home network. However, I have been noticing an issue when it seems like the file becomes too large. I am using just some basic settings with Handbrake, keep the files as 1080p.

An example of the problem I am having is with Batman Begins. When I set it to use constant bit rate at 70%, it create a 10 gig file. When I try to add it to iTunes it fails. When I try to play it with VLC, nothing happen. However, when I set Handbrake to 60%, file works fine.

So is there some type of limit that MP4 movie files can be? I am also running OS X so maybe it's an OS X issue?
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:30 AM   #2
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
I believe iTunes has a upper limit of 4GB on its MP4 files. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I seem to remember a "larger than 4GB for AppleTV" checkbox in Handbrake or some other application.

I just searched through the M4V files in my iTunes library, and nothing -- including movies -- is over 4GB. I keep the bigger movies on a NAS for playing to my PS3 or my WDTV HD Live box.

Mac OS X has no problems with files over 4GB, even movies. I think this is an arbitrary limit in iTunes. (4GB = 32 bits of data)

-Aaron-
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:41 AM   #3
phenixdragon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I could try the checkbox but I have had a couple of movies larger then 4 gigs but less then 5 work. I really don't care if it works in iTunes but I noticed that VLC also won't play the file. However, if I do AC3 passthrough and all the other settings the same, it plays but with no sound since my Mac can't decode AC3.
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:42 AM   #4
phenixdragon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Wow, I take that back. THe AC3 version even with the same settings is only 2.62 gigs while the 6 channel one I created was about 12 gigs. Hm...
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:50 AM   #5
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
iTunes has no limit on the size of a file as long as you check the "Large file size" checkbox in Handbrake.

Also if you're seeing a percentage value in Handbrake for the constant quality value then you're using an older version of Handbrake. Download the latest nightly version it's much better, in the new nightly versions I use a CQ RF value of about 19-18 for Blu-ray and 20-19 for DVD.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:54 AM   #6
phenixdragon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Running version 0.9.4 for OS X. Looks to be the latest version. Does list the RF value which I hadn't noticed. Just it also lists the percentage too.
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 09:58 AM   #7
phenixdragon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I'm going to do some more testing because when I had AC3 passthrough I swear the video settings were the same as when I tried 6 channel, yet the 6 channel was about 10 gigs larger. Maybe I made a mistake with the AC3 but I will also try the large file and see what happens.
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 10:30 AM   #8
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by phenixdragon View Post
Running version 0.9.4 for OS X. Looks to be the latest version. Does list the RF value which I hadn't noticed. Just it also lists the percentage too.
Yep, 0.9.4 was the last stable version but it's quite old now. Try one of the nightly's from here:-

https://build.handbrake.fr/

Quote:
I'm going to do some more testing because when I had AC3 passthrough I swear the video settings were the same as when I tried 6 channel, yet the 6 channel was about 10 gigs larger. Maybe I made a mistake with the AC3 but I will also try the large file and see what happens.
I think thats because AC3 is a compressed format and 6 channel is uncompressed, thus much much larger.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 10:52 AM   #9
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
First 70% cq is waaay too high imho for a blue ray source. Also yes 0.9.4 showed both percentage as well as rf as we were weaning people off of the misleading % scale that hb had always used for constant quality.

AC3 in HandBrake is passed through so whatever the source bitrate is is what you'll get. 6 channel discrete is six channels of aac compressed from the ac3 source. My guess is neither is the reason the file size ballooned. My guess would be that it was a cq encode using a very high quality setting ... which can balloon size especially from blu ray given that 70%. Go with what roidy said and see if its any better (should be).

On the large file size checkbox: Has nothing to do with a playback platform issue, has to do with the fact that a 32 bit mp4 cannot exceed 4GB. So HB has to be told to mux the mp4 as a 64 bit mp4 ... which in general has no size constraints. Most mac devices (including atv and any recent ipod with video capabilites) as well as the mac itself has no issues with 64 bit mp4s.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 11:33 AM   #10
phenixdragon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
I think thats because AC3 is a compressed format and 6 channel is uncompressed, thus much much larger.
Yes but AC3 shouldn't add over 8 gigs to the file, maybe a gig. But I had thought going 6 channel is using even less space then AC3. I tried using Doble TrueHD and it was smaller then Dolby Digital.I may just stick with AC3 though.
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 11:37 AM   #11
phenixdragon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
First 70% cq is waaay too high imho for a blue ray source. Also yes 0.9.4 showed both percentage as well as rf as we were weaning people off of the misleading % scale that hb had always used for constant quality.

AC3 in HandBrake is passed through so whatever the source bitrate is is what you'll get. 6 channel discrete is six channels of aac compressed from the ac3 source. My guess is neither is the reason the file size ballooned. My guess would be that it was a cq encode using a very high quality setting ... which can balloon size especially from blu ray given that 70%. Go with what roidy said and see if its any better (should be).

On the large file size checkbox: Has nothing to do with a playback platform issue, has to do with the fact that a 32 bit mp4 cannot exceed 4GB. So HB has to be told to mux the mp4 as a 64 bit mp4 ... which in general has no size constraints. Most mac devices (including atv and any recent ipod with video capabilites) as well as the mac itself has no issues with 64 bit mp4s.
Well when I do AC3 pass thru at 70% the the file was under 3 gigs. But I can say that anything less then 70% I can see a difference in quality. But I will try that other build and see what happens.
phenixdragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 12:10 PM   #12
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Well , you are recompressing the source so there will always be some quality loss. Its is unavoidable and certain.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP4 File with Separate SRT File Does Not Play Forced Subs on AppleTV or Quicktime? watcurb Apple TV and Home Theater 10 Feb 2, 2014 11:29 AM
file cache limit change? darshie76 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Jan 8, 2014 01:33 AM
Can a .dmg file have a limit on how often you can open it? Sanchez25 Mac Basics and Help 4 Jul 17, 2013 06:27 PM
MP4 video file added to iTunes not showing up mindquest Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 25, 2013 11:22 PM
iTunes Match 25,000 limit/Amazon Cloud Player 250,000 limit kingledley Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 31, 2012 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC