Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2010, 11:49 AM   #1
NWI73
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Going on a cruise to the bahamas - what settings to turn off?

Going on a cruise to the Bahamas next week and was wondering what settings I need to change or turn off to make sure no extra charges are incurred. I want to use the camera and whatever else that doesn't use data or the network.

Thanks.
NWI73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 11:53 AM   #2
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Airplane Mode will kill ALL data and phone connections.

Did you want to use it as a phone? If not, Airplane Mode is the way to go.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 11:54 AM   #3
mattkowalski
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Data roaming is the main one to leave turned off - it kills the data connection when you're abroad (settings -> general -> network).

I went travelling with mine in Cambodia/Thailand/Laos recently. Motion-X GPS is worth a look. Lets you pre-load maps in advance, so you don't need a data connection once you're there.
mattkowalski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 12:47 PM   #4
BDoggPrelude
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Put it on Airplane Mode or you will be sorry. Most cruise ships have a cellular at sea signal onboard that basically charges roaming rates to your bill. These rates are obscene though. I've heard plenty of horror stories of people that went on a cruise, didn't turn off their smartphone and came home to a $1000+ phone bill just from constant updates and such that use up data. Whenever my wife and I go on cruises we take our iPhones but they're on Airplane Mode from the moment we leave port to the moment we get back.
BDoggPrelude is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 12:53 PM   #5
Greenman1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I too was wondering this, I'm going on a cruise in a few weeks and wanted to know what settings to use so that I won't rack up obscene charges. I just want to bring my iphone 4 and use it as a camera/video recorder.

So..

1. Make sure roaming is turned off
2. Make sure airplane mode is turned on.

Is that it?
Greenman1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 01:02 PM   #6
Small White Car
macrumors G3
 
Small White Car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenman1 View Post
I too was wondering this, I'm going on a cruise in a few weeks and wanted to know what settings to use so that I won't rack up obscene charges. I just want to bring my iphone 4 and use it as a camera/video recorder.

So..

1. Make sure roaming is turned off
2. Make sure airplane mode is turned on.

Is that it?
You can skip step 1. Airplane mode physically turns the radios off. There's no way to roam if the radio has no power.

Also, add to that a final step: "Turn Wifi Back On." This will leave airplane mode on, but with Wifi. You can use any free Wifi signals you find and Airplane mode will keep the other radios off.
Small White Car is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 01:14 PM   #7
BDoggPrelude
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Small White Car View Post
You can skip step 1. Airplane mode physically turns the radios off. There's no way to roam if the radio has no power.

Also, add to that a final step: "Turn Wifi Back On." This will leave airplane mode on, but with Wifi. You can use any free Wifi signals you find and Airplane mode will keep the other radios off.
If you're going on Carnival their WiFi service is expensive and slow. Not worth the money at all.
BDoggPrelude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 02:41 PM   #8
cambookpro
macrumors 68040
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
I'm on holiday at the moment, my settings are (I'm a better safe than sorry person:

Wifi ON
Cellular Data OFF
Data Roaming OFF
Notifications OFF
Push Mail OFF
Fetch Mail MANUALLY


No data's getting past that wall!
__________________
MacBook Pro | iMac | iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 03:42 AM   #9
NWI73
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I will turn airplane mode on and leave wifi off. I read that the ship has wifi but you have to pay for it and it's something like .99 per minute. I don't need the net while I'm on vaca anyway. Thanks guys!
NWI73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 11:21 AM   #10
April Dancer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
I've just come back today from a transatlantic crossing and my poor phone spent the week on airplane mode although I did use the ship's wifi. Don't be tempted to use the maritime network, unless you fancy a second mortgage! Have a great time
__________________
MacBook Pro / Black MacBook / G4 iBook / G3 iBook / G3 iMac (grape)
iPad 2
All the iPhones - currently white iPhone 5
All the iPods - currently silver 160GB
April Dancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 11:27 AM   #11
marcin0903
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Just turn off data transmission and turn off data roaming, than you're done, there is no required to turn on the flight mode.
__________________
 iMac 27-inch, C2D 3.06GHz, 4GB RAM, Radeon HD 4670;  iPad 16GB Wi-Fi;  iPhone 3G 16GB Black;  iPod Video 5.5G;  iPhone 4 16GB Black soon
marcin0903 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 11:29 AM   #12
bobr1952
macrumors 68000
 
bobr1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
I left my phone on Airplane Mode for most of the cruise I was on recently--also in the Caribbean. I used my phone on US Virgin Islands since ATT is there--and you could also get the ATT signal on the ship. On Carnival, the name of the carrier replaces ATT when you are using their signal--probably the same with all of them.
__________________
2012 rMPB, 2.3 Intel Core i7, 8GB Ram, 256 SSD; 2008 iMac, 24", 2GB, 500GB; Time Capsule 500GB (1st Gen); ATV3; ATV2; Airport Express; Black 64GB iPhone 4S; Black iPad Air, 32GB, wi-fi
bobr1952 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2010, 11:31 AM   #13
kernkraft
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Turn off the 'Work' setting and enjoy your holiday! Try not to spend too much time with your gadget, you can enjoy it enough when you are not on holiday in a great location.
kernkraft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 06:22 AM   #14
iproductsuser
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I'll be traveling to Jamaica in one week and re hashing this subject back....all I need to do is flip airplane mode on and then flip wifi on when I get to the hotel if they have it and I should be all set, right?
iproductsuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 06:47 AM   #15
mlmwalt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pa, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iproductsuser View Post
I'll be traveling to Jamaica in one week and re hashing this subject back....all I need to do is flip airplane mode on and then flip wifi on when I get to the hotel if they have it and I should be all set, right?
Airplane mode kills WiFi too.

Turn off Cellular Data and Voice Roaming and you should be good.

BTW I just spent 2 weeks in Jamaica, their network is CDMA. Roaming there from Verizon is $0.50 per outgoing text, $0.05 incoming texts (I think), and $0.99 per minute voice. Data is insane, $20.00 per MB!!!! Both resorts I went to had WiFi.
mlmwalt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 06:50 AM   #16
SteveAbootman
macrumors 6502a
 
SteveAbootman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlmwalt View Post
Airplane mode kills WiFi too.

Turn off Cellular Data and Voice Roaming and you should be good.

BTW I just spent 2 weeks in Jamaica, their network is CDMA. Roaming there from Verizon is $0.50 per outgoing text, $0.05 incoming texts (I think), and $0.99 per minute voice. Data is insane, $20.00 per MB!!!! Both resorts I went to had WiFi.
Airplane will kill everything. You can then go in and turn on WiFi by itself. Fewer taps and drill downs than turning off data and roaming.
__________________
I own a variety of products all with various technical specifications that I use periodically as my needs dictate.
SteveAbootman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 07:23 AM   #17
nostresshere
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
First and most important, do not confuse answers. What happens on the ship at sea, vs ship in port, or while you are in some islands vs others are all different.

If U.S. Virgin Islands - you are still domestic.
Each foreign country has different rates. Check your carriers website for details.

While at sea, you will not get data my mistake. You are required to login. Turing off data roaming is a safety net though.

Phone calls AT SEA are $2.49 a minute. We always leave ours on and can handle a few calls. Your choice.

Texts are cheap.

Your unlimited plans do not apply at sea.

Cruising - make sure you visit cruisecritic.com
nostresshere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 07:29 AM   #18
kdarling
macrumors Demi-God
 
kdarling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Device engineer 30+ yrs, touchscreens 23+.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDoggPrelude View Post
If you're going on Carnival their WiFi service is expensive and slow. Not worth the money at all.
Depends on how much you need it, of course. Also, if you're in a suite it's often included for no extra charge.

Personally I usually go to the ship's passenger computer room and pay for just enough time on their desktops to check my email every day or two. The trick is to get on and off quickly, since you're paying by the minute. Don't sit there reading and replying.

It's a minor miracle that these ships have such comms in the first place. Medium speed (2Mbps down, 1Mbps up) satellite links can cost $1,000 a month just for a single user on a private boat. Last time I checked (admittedly a few years back), cruise ships were paying at least ten times that.
kdarling is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Ship Vacations Huntn Community Discussion 18 Nov 18, 2013 01:13 PM
iOS7.0.3 settings: Cant turn on microphone for apps KhunJay iPhone 0 Nov 2, 2013 11:02 AM
How Do I Turn Off Update Badge on Settings App? navigator73 iOS 5 and earlier 16 Mar 27, 2013 05:09 PM
best option for using 4s in Bahamas with Verizon?? elykoj iPhone 1 Jan 21, 2013 12:05 PM
Will iPhone work on a submarine cruise. kevinbomb123 Wasteland 2 Jul 28, 2012 11:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC