Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Titch13

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2010
Please help!

Everytime I try todo anything that involves backing up my iPhone 4, this message comes up: 'iTunes could not backup the iPhone "Titch's iPhone" because an unknown error occurred (-20)'

I have tried uninstalling iTunes and downloading it again, and I have refreshed my iPhone a bunch of times but still no luck! and I am a newbie to any sort of Apple product!

Thanks,

Scott

grapes911

Moderator emeritus
Jul 28, 2003
Citizens Bank Park
Try moving your already saved backups to another location then rebooting the computer. Reboot the iPhone as well (this part shouldn't matter, but it can't hurt).

Titch13

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2010
the main problem this error is causing, is when I am trying to update the iPhone software update, it is not working for this reason

dZp

macrumors 6502a
Mar 29, 2006
And the solution, as explained above, is to remove the existing backup.

~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/

When you next try to update the firmware on your iPhone, iTunes will create a new backup. Or you can force it to create one (Devices -> right-click -> backup). Chances are the existing one is corrupt in some way.

Titch13

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2010
You probably cant help me with this, but where do I find the existing backup.

Thanks

aaw0701

macrumors newbie
Aug 31, 2010
because an unkown error occured (-20)

I am having the same problem but I am using Windows 7. Can anyone help me to locate the backup folder using thios opertating system? Thanks

Enjoem

macrumors newbie
Sep 2, 2010
C:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup