Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 20, 2010, 09:33 PM   #1
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Cydia errors after TRYING to add http://Repo.benm.at/

I tried to add the http://Repo.benm.at/ repo to try out Frash and it failed. Now when I open up Cydia I'm getting an error message every time (see screenshot). I don't understand why I'm getting an error message though because the repo isn't even listed in my list of sources. Any idea how I can get rid of the error message?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-2.PNG
Views:	157
Size:	369.3 KB
ID:	247453  
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2010, 09:36 PM   #2
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
You entered the repo address incorrectly, so it cannot load into Cydia and you cannot remove it via Cydia.

You will have to SSH into your phone and manually remove the bad repo.


If you added a source that causes Cydia to crash, this will help you remove the buggy source you added.

You will need an ftp/sftp client. [WinSCP for Windows/Cyberduck for Mac]

1. SSH into your iPhone/iPod, hopefully you know how to do that.

2. Go to the root of your iPhone/iPod [/].

3. Navigate to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list

4. Download the Cydia.list to your computer and open it using any text editor.

5. Delete the source you added. For example, "deb http://www.iphone.org.hk/apt/ ./" if this is the source you want to delete, simply delete that one line. NOT THE WHOLE DOCUMENT. Make sure you save the document as is. We are NOT adding any extensions.

6. Drag the saved document into the sources.list.d folder and replace the file.

7. Re-spring.
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad Air2 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2010, 09:47 PM   #3
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Worked like a charm - thank you so much!
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2010, 09:50 PM   #4
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad Air2 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 01:05 AM   #5
mphayvanh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
That repo is no longer valid. I was able to use that repo to install frash. I removed it because of those errors. Btw frash was great.
mphayvanh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 10:11 AM   #6
macslayer118
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
I have successfully used this method to remove XSellize repo that I apparently put in wrong, but every time I add or remove a repo Xsellize comes back. Does anyone know why or how to stop it? It's getting really annoying to have to edit this file every time
macslayer118 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 11:07 AM   #7
detronic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
thanks: dhlizard

had the same problem, fixed the same problem with this thread, thank you much
detronic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 12:46 PM   #8
mattla93
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
We were under a massive DDOS attack the last days.

Now the Repo http://repo.benm.at is up and running


Cheers,
BENM.AT
mattla93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 07:39 PM   #9
Lazer90210
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I'm getting the same error when I add ispazio repo. I want to be able to download/be notified of the release of the updated LiveClock, Weather Icon and Rotation Inhibitor.

Anyone had any luck with getting ispazio repo working on 4.0.1?
Lazer90210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 10:07 PM   #10
elipem01
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
This can also be done using iFile if you have it.
elipem01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 10:12 PM   #11
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazer90210 View Post
I'm getting the same error when I add ispazio repo. I want to be able to download/be notified of the release of the updated LiveClock, Weather Icon and Rotation Inhibitor.

Anyone had any luck with getting ispazio repo working on 4.0.1?
I have ispazio on 4.0.1. The site is probably down when you’re trying to add it.

To others: another way to fix repp errors is using Cyfix (an executable from Cydia for using in Mobile Terminal), which can get rid of even the errors that editing the Cydia.list file doesn’t fix.
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2010, 10:28 PM   #12
FireSokar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
I have ispazio on 4.0.1. The site is probably down when you’re trying to add it.

To others: another way to fix repp errors is using Cyfix (an executable from Cydia for using in Mobile Terminal), which can get rid of even the errors that editing the Cydia.list file doesn’t fix.
I used Cyfix two weeks ago when myrepospace was spazzing out. Just know you must use from within mobile terminal or a ssh connection because the Optional GUI that is offered does not properly work on ios 4
FireSokar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 10:52 AM   #13
fuzion11
macrumors 65816
 
fuzion11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Send a message via MSN to fuzion11
You're the man dhlizard...your method worked like a charm for me too!

Thanks dude!
__________________
Game Center id: fuzion11
Black iPhone 6 - 64GB - iOS 8.0.2
fuzion11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 11:06 AM   #14
nozebleed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhlizard View Post
You entered the repo address incorrectly, so it cannot load into Cydia and you cannot remove it via Cydia.

You will have to SSH into .........
this works until you add a new repo, then the bad comes back. its buried deep in the phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by FireSokar View Post
I used Cyfix two weeks ago when myrepospace was spazzing out. Just know you must use from within mobile terminal or a ssh connection because the Optional GUI that is offered does not properly work on ios 4
this. cyfix from xsellize repo - run with mobile term for the permanent fix
nozebleed is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch: When I delete a Repo in cydia ... $M.H$ Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Apr 18, 2014 08:35 AM
iPod Touch: Cannot add certain repo AppleDeviceUser Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Aug 12, 2013 09:05 PM
iPhone: Cydia Repo Problem - Help Sinclairr Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Mar 29, 2013 05:42 AM
General: Cydia Repo/Package Question xxxhackaxxx Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Mar 22, 2013 03:20 PM
iPhone: I want DirecTV app, so is repo safe: http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo NateEssex Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Feb 26, 2013 07:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC