Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2010, 12:32 AM   #1
alskdj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Help - Powermac G5 Only Boots In Safe Mode

Yeah, pretty much what thread title says. Upon start up, I hear the chime, see the grey Apple load screen, but then after it just reaches the blue screen and stops. Cannot reach login screen, unless in safe mode.

Steps I've tried:
-Reinstall tiger (erase and install)
-Replace CMOS battery (time now works correctly)
-Run Apple Hardware Test (no errors)

I'm confounded. Any ideas guys?
alskdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2010, 05:40 AM   #2
bizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
bizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Check your hard drive.

http://www.volitans-software.com/smart_utility.php
__________________
oh no my fans are spinning and my computer is hot wtf?????!!??!?!?1/1/1/111````oneonetwo
bizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2010, 09:00 AM   #3
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by alskdj View Post
Yeah, pretty much what thread title says. Upon start up, I hear the chime, see the grey Apple load screen, but then after it just reaches the blue screen and stops. Cannot reach login screen, unless in safe mode.

Steps I've tried:
-Reinstall tiger (erase and install)
-Replace CMOS battery (time now works correctly)
-Run Apple Hardware Test (no errors)

I'm confounded. Any ideas guys?
What model is it? If it has LCS than it might be due to a leak of the cooling fluid. It usually makes G5's act quite strangely.
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2010, 11:43 AM   #4
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Failing hard drives will do this. Try using another HD or booting up off and external Firewire drive or PPC Mac in target disk mode.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.16, Dual 2.0 G5, Dual 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 01:57 AM   #5
alskdj
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thanks guys, I've installed a different hard drive, same result though Also, model is early 2005 2.3GHz one
alskdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2010, 02:45 AM   #6
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Try with minimum amount of RAM (2 sticks) and/or different RAM configs.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac only boots in safe mode Sc00ter iMac 4 Sep 7, 2011 12:02 AM
Lion only works in Safe Mode (Help Please!). Is this bad? zdlyons Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 24, 2011 11:46 AM
iMac G5 only boots in safe boot jwdelta PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 28, 2011 05:20 PM
iMac keeps booting in safe mode. Why & how to fix? shippouk iMac 4 Jan 27, 2011 02:36 AM
iBook G4 will only boot in safe mode. Suggestions? AlphaDogg PowerPC Macs 6 Sep 22, 2010 01:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC