Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sinan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2010
United Kingdom
I am a Graphic/Web Designer. Currently I have a dual 867mhz G4 that doesn't cut it. I can go all out and bring the machine up to dual 1.42 G4, 2gb ram, Radeon 3850, etc etc...

BUT

Before I lay out the money for it, would it be worth going for a second hand intel mini? The gpu in them I know is terrible but that aside does anyone have experience of the performance between the two when running;

Adobe Photoshop, In-Design, Illustrator and Dreamweaver CS3 as well as Inkscape and GIMP and occasionally Google Sketchup.

I'm not bothered about noise etc, only the performance difference.

Sinan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2010
United Kingdom
Looking at prices, its going to be 1 gen Intel mini ie Core Duo.

Looking at:

Intel Core Duo 1.66 ghz
2 gb Ram
Intel GMA 950 with 64mb Vram
500gb Hdd

---VS---

PowerPC G4 1.42ghz x 2
2 gb Ram
Radeon 3850 with 512mb Vram
500gb Hdd

For the same price I can get either of the above.

drewdle

macrumors regular
Apr 26, 2010
Nanaimo, BC
I think it would depend on what era of Intel Mac Mini you're considering.