£100 G3 iMac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dagless, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    My old college is rumoured to be selling off their old iMacs for £100 a piece, maybe less. That a good price? I remember using them years ago but they were pretty bad. i blame OS9.
    Can i run OSX on a G3 iMac? well... Tiger? Just i'd love my Powerbook and a nostalgic machine working side by side. especially when the iMac has a dandy 768mb RAM, apparently.

    should i buy? or haggle a cheaper price? or what? :)
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    What specs are they. There's a wide variety, something like 233-600MHz.
     
  3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #3
    You can certainly run OS X perfectly on an iMac, especially given the RAM they've supposedly got in them – but I'd find out what the processor speed and hard disk size is before deciding if £100 is a fair price.
     
  4. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    that was another question i forgot to ask. do the colours matter? I mean on eBay im seeing a "snowy" iMac at 600mhz? I know we have some snowy iMacs.

    there are all the colours of the rainbow for sale. slot loading, tray loading, blues greens oranges and white.

    I had no idea that with an adapter you can get Airport on them! that makes it a much better deal. sure i can just share the internet via ethernet but you gotta love wireless :)
     
  5. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #5
    If memory serves (it seems such a long time ago ;)) the snowy iMacs were one of the last revisions before they went to the G4 'lamp' iMacs. As a general rule of thumb, if it's got a slot loading optical drive it's one of the later models. My old indigo G3 iMac from the same revision as the snowy and had no problems handling Panther – I never tried Tiger on it so I can't vouch for it personally. Just make sure you get a full list of the specs so you know exactly what you're buying.
     
  6. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #6
    You're right that the snowy model were part of the last revisions. I believe they came in at 500 Mhz but I could be wrong. I have a graphite G3 500 Mhz iMac that is currently running 10.4.2 with only 256 MB of RAM and it's not terrible. I can imagine if I upgraded the RAM to 768 it would be much better.
     
  7. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #7
    I've had a look at LowEndMac and apparently the snowy weighed in with 500, 600 and 700MHz models. All in all, there were a lot of models in a lot of colours, so just make sure you know exactly which iMac you're spending your hard-earned coin on, raggedjimmi – and I'd steer clear of the Flower Power special edition, too. ;)
     
  8. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #8
    iMac G3


    Im running tiger on iMac 400mhz G3 Dv with 384Mbs of ram and 30Gb HD..
    If you wanna do simple stuff: E.g. textedit,web surfing, some tunes and some dashboard games .. It run but not like G5 or G4 .. 100 euro price sounds fair or haggle little bit down.. i paid 67 euros for my G3 iMac .. and its my first Mac.

    iphil



    Edit: the Machine i bought had 128Mbs of ram,but i added 256 stick of ram and tiger .. because had No OS on it ...
     

Share This Page