1,25GHz DDR CPU in 800MHz Quicksilver?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Xerocs, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. Xerocs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    EU
    #1
    Does a 1,25 GHz PowerPC G4 1MB DDR SRAM L3 cache - CPU work in a 800Mhz SingleProc. Quicksilver (2002)? (Or set the jumpers to a 133Mhz bus.)
     
  2. Mertzen macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
    #2
    I think there is a significant difference in how the CPU daughterboard is mounted on the MDD and the QS .. so if I was you I wouldn't risk it ..
     
  3. Xerocs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    EU
    #3
    1,2ghz board:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    733/800 board:
    [​IMG]

    would not fit in. damnit
     
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    No, the architecture changed greatly between models. Airport vs. Airport Extreme, Bluetooth added, DDR RAM added, etc.
     
  5. Mertzen macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
    #5
    All the above doesn't really apply for this specific issue [ except maybe the RAM .. not that DDR made those macs any faster ] ..

    You can try to OC your QS .. but with the awful cooling in the QS case that is hardly an option ..
     
  6. NNO-Stephen macrumors 6502

    NNO-Stephen

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    #6
    you can definitely keep a Quicksilver cool. ;)

    OC it if you want, or you could just buy a processor upgrade from GigaDesigns, Sonnet, OWC/Mercury Extreme, etc. and not really have to worry about OCing it and the extra risk that comes along with it.
     

Share This Page