1.5 GB of RAM...and still Pageouts???

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by supafly1703, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. supafly1703 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #1
    I just got a new 1.67 GHz powerbook, threw in a gig and a half of ram, and I still have pageouts! Just checked Activity moniter, over 100k! Am not doing anything particularly strenuous...what gives?
     
  2. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #2
    Virtual memory works in mysterious ways.

    I think it's supposed to be like that. I guess there must be some kind of mechanism that determines parts of RAM that is less likely to be used and pages it out even though it's not strictly necessary.
     
  3. colosodian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #3
    wow, I only have 1GB and my computer has been on for 2 days = 68 page outs.
     
  4. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #4
    2 days since last reboot on the powerbook, been running all the normal stuff +pshop and world of warcraft (uses lots of ram) and i have 808 pageouts :)

    i normally have mail, safari (2-3 windows with 5 tabs each), adium and itunes running, everything else gets exited when i'm done.



    If i were you, i'd download OnyX and give your mac a thorough clean out, followed by a repair permissions and a reboot :)


    Unless you doing some extreme tasks, or have had you mac running for a couple of months 100k sounds rather high :eek:
     
  5. Mac_Freak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #5
    For me, specs on the bottom, after 16 days of uptime it is 1,359,630 pageins and 239,272 pageouts. :D
     
  6. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #6
    It's not how many pageouts you have, it's how many per seceond that you have. Another thing to look at is the total size of the swapfiles in /var/vm - note do not delete these, the OS manages the creation and deletion itself.

    As for the number of pageouts, my system with 2 GB of ram has been up about 10 days and has over 300,000 pageouts. For us to answer your questions, how long has your system been up, what applications are you running? And web browsers tend to need to be restarted once every few days, they all seem to leak memory.
     
  7. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    Can someone please explain to me what a pageout is?
     
  8. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #8
    Yes we could. However, just go over to Wikipedia and look at their artcle on paging.
     
  9. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #9
    when your computer has to access the drive instead of your ram, high number of pageouts in short amount of time means you need more RAM, for instance. my powermac has 2GB of RAM and has never had a pageout yet, however my powerbook has 512MB RAM and normally has about a hundred thousand pageouts but for some odd reason it has 0 right now (must have restarted lately)
     
  10. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #10
    The worst thing I ever did to bog down my system was to install Virex 7.5

    I trashed it after 2 days and reverted to 7.2 and really don't need it at all.

    Norton's is even worse.

    You might want to check to see what you have pre-set in your startup items.
    Sometimes default app settings will launch a program that you don't need.

    Activity monitor should also tell you what's running.

    You also might want to try Tiger Cache Cleaner to help you maintain your system.

    Sorry I'm not much help tonight.
     
  11. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #11
    How many widgets are you running? Some of the widgets seem to be memory hungry.
     
  12. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
  13. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
  14. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    Open Activity Monitor, go into System Memory and look in the second column, it should say "Page ins/outs: xxxx/xxxx" (where 'x' is a number).
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #15
    free/inactive?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #16
    Instead of using Activity Monitor, just go into Terminal and type "top" without the quotation marks(" "). To check your uptime, go into Terminal and type "uptime" without the quotation marks.

    Anyway, you get pageouts when your system needs RAM, and there's no free RAM available. Don't worry, even with 2 GB of RAM, sometimes your system needs to use your HD as RAM even if you only have 1 program in use because some of that RAM is still assigned to those inactive programs to make them load faster.

    Anyway, Supafly's case seems unusual anyway. That's a lot of pageouts for someone who isn't doing anything strenuous. I don't do anything strenuous with my system either and I have 5000 page-outs after 15 days of uptime.

    Go into "ABOUT THIS MAC." Does OSX recognize your 1.5GB of RAM? If not, then there may be something wrong with that RAM slot, or with the RAM itself (less likely).
     
  17. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #17
    Mine's been up just shy of 9 days and has 72700 page outs compared with close to 300,000 page ins. Not too bad at all I don't think considering I've been doing some video encoding recently.
     
  18. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #18
    Running classic can be a real memory hog, so have you ever run that recently?
     
  19. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #19
    1G RAM in my PB...
    page ins/outs 46606/9453

    guess mine is ok?! So I guess I have matched the right spec for the majority of the tasks I do.
     
  20. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #20
    I usualy get lots of page outs when I play some intesinve games like KOTOR and UT2004. If I dont game the pageouts start increasing when I have Photoshop and iPhoto loaded. Also FCP and Photoshop

    How many page outs do you get, 8 gig RAM owners? ;)
     
  21. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #21
    Actually video-editing apps usually take no more than 50-70 MB (my Final Cut Pro and iMovie), cuz they dont load video footage into the ram for the simple reason that video is very large in size and even 8 gigs of RAM will not be enough for it. So they use video from HD thats why HD speed is so important when rendering video
     
  22. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #22
    Assume that you've taken the first obvious step to check that the extra RAM is being recognised and working?
     
  23. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #23
    What about using Handbrake to convert DVD to H.264 .mp4 files?

    Either way it's not too bad and much better than when I only had 256. I figure that when I start to crave an intelBook I'll just pull out the 256MB stick and bung in a 1GB stick - would've doone it earlier but only just had the $$$ for the 256. Still made a big difference though.
     
  24. meanmachine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    #24
    Page in/outs will jump as soon as you switch users. Restart your PB, see that page in/out is 0/0, then do a user switch and start as the new user some programs and then switch back to the first user. Now recheck the page in/out : there you have it.

    :cool:
     
  25. minimax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #25
    Does anybody know where to check for pageouts in Win XP ?
    When I check Windows Task Manager > Performance it says under Kernel Memory: Paged: xxx Nonpaged: YYY
    I guess nonpaged means HD used?
     

Share This Page