1.5GB in PB work ok?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lieb39, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. lieb39 macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I'm planning to buy a 15" Powerbook very soon (Stock: 512MB, 120GB HDD, Superdrive) and adding 1GB of Cricial RAM to it. Will the 1.5GB work okay?

    The reason I'm going for 1.5GB because I really don't want any slowdowns, and I'm going to be using programs like Photoshop, Garageband and Logic Express. Should I be worried, or can I just get 1GB (512x2)?

    Thanks,

    lieb39
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Impossible to answer with accuracy. 1.5 Gb is great for most uses.

    It will work "ok" for you up until the point where your applications and data sets that you have open simultaneously exceed the 1.5 Gb amount. Then it will work less well.

    So the determining factor whether you need 2 Gb vs 1.5 Gb vs. 1.0 Gb is whether you will be opening more than 1.5 Gb worth of programs and data. With the software you have, that is a potential.

    I would go for the 1 Gb module at least, because you will likely bust the 1 Gb barrier quickly, meaning you would have to remove and dispose of the 512 Mb SODIMM you just bought.
     
  3. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    With each of those apps you mentioned, the more RAM the better. I have 1.5GB in my 15" PB and sometimes it becomes rate limiting. I'm sure you'd get by with a 1GB total, but at today's reasonable 1GB stick prices, I think 1.5 is prudent. 2 is even better, but would costs you significantly more.
     
  4. robx2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #4
    I run Flash, Final Cut Pro, and Photoshop on my 1.25 GHz Powerbook with 1.25 GB with little to no problem (and often at the same time. Using Compressor to encode video takes considerably longer than on our dual 2.5 GHz G5 with 4GB, but in the words of Ron Popeil, I just "set it and forget it". Start it running and go to bed.
     
  5. ipacmm macrumors 65816

    ipacmm

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #5
    You should be able to run everything just fine with the 1.5GB of ram.
     
  6. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #6
    Yeap, get the 1x1GB option at least..

    You might pay more but it gives you better options.
     
  7. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I think you should BTO 1GB from apple. Then buy another 1GB from crucial later on. That way you aren't chucking any ram away, as you max it out in the near future.
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    1.5GB of RAM in your 15" PowerBook G4 should work nicely for you- go for it.
     
  9. lieb39 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Thanks! I'm going with 512mb Stock then going to buy 1GB separate. I'm using the "Memory Advisor Tool" on Crucial.com for the 1GB. Is this the best / cheapest way?

    Thanks :)

    -lieb39
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    I would compare prices at Data Memory Systems - if you are in the USA they are a great company to deal with

    Eh. Sorry, I just noticed Australia. Shipping across the Pacific is costly.
     
  11. lieb39 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    Nope, Located in Australia. Well, it really depends how much I need the extra RAM.. I may wait until my trip to Canada in the new year, where RAM is far cheaper then down here.

    Thanks,

    lieb39
     
  12. ColoJohnBoy macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #12
    I don't know if this speaks more of the 128 MB graphic chip or the 1.5 GB RAM, but with both I can run iTunes, Safari, Mail, iChat, Word, and play a bit of The Sims 2 without a hint of slowdown. I'm not doing all at once, mind you. I just have a nasty habit of becoming distracted and not closing windows or apps...
     
  13. lieb39 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    If that's the case I think I'll be a very happy mac user :)

    -lieb39
     
  14. lieb39 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    Actually, one question to you and any other PB owners, how does iPhoto run? In terms of loading and whatnot? Because it's pretty darn slow on my mac mini, mind you only 512mb of RAM, and only about 150 photos in there.

    Thanks,

    lieb39
     
  15. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #15
    15" PB 1.33GHz with 1GB (2x512MB) RAM here.

    With Safari, Excel, and Folding@Home running, I just launched iPhoto. Took less than 10 seconds to launch and load 1,500 photo's.

    I use PhotoShop, Illustator, and InDesign at the same time, often with Safari, Mail, FileMaker Pro, Word, and Excel open at the same time. My computer has been up for the past 8 days with 0 pageouts.

    I think 1.5GB will be sufficient for you.
     
  16. lieb39 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #16
    Yeah, for sure. The only reason I'm getting the extra "512" is that so I can get the stock 512 and 1GB, that way if I wanted to upgrade in the future I can just go with another 1GB stick.

    Thanks,

    lieb39
     

Share This Page