1.6ghz MBA rev. A supports 64 bit right?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Caralvarez24, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. Caralvarez24
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    #1
    Pretty sure it did just trying to clarify.

    1.6ghz MBA rev. A supports 64 bit right?

    Sorry for the noob question!
     
  2. GoCubsGo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    I think you can run 64-bit apps but you can't run the 64-bit kernel.
     
  3. ayeying
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    Processor's 64-bit. Chipset isn't I think (I might be wrong here, please advise)

    You can run 64-bit applications without any problems, but you can't run the SL's 64-kernel as Jessica said.
     
  4. Caralvarez24
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.60 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.14320/554; U; en) Presto/2.2.0)

    Ok...the reason I ask is I just got an email from xslimmer about their new update. They can now slim away the 32 bit coding...wanted to make sure It was ok to do this.
     
  5. ayeying
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    You can. Don't think it'll help much though, but yeah, Leopard and the Rev. A supports 64-bit applications
     

Share This Page