1 External Hard Drive to 2 Computers???

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by michael-appleru, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. michael-appleru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #1
    I want to connect 1 External Hard Drive to 2 Computers. How do I do this????

    I have tryed to use both wirewire ports but when i plugged in the second computer it wnated to dasiychain it to the other one both computers freezed as a result DONT TRY THIS!!

    Do I have to get a splitter (Plug spliter into External hard drive then two firewire cords come out of one) is this possible???

    kinda like a headphone splitter but with firewire ports
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ebouwman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    i would probably connect the HD to one computer and then share it over a network.
     
  3. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #3
    Yes - you can't just plug it into both USB or FW ports. It doesn't really work like that, for reasons I am not in the mood to go into.

    Best to share it over the network.
     
  4. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #4
    On a related note, on the back of my external HD, there is a firewire port, a second firewire port (the i-link looking one) and a USB port.

    If I connect it to three different computers at once can it still work? Can I read/write simultaneously?
     
  5. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #5
    CHOOSE Only ONE PORT To Connect A Cable To The Computer

    I hope this is a joke post. But just in case:

    No. No. No.

    One Firewire Cable to the computer OR One USB 2 cable to the computer.

    The second FW Cable is to add another FW device - usually another FW HD.
     
  6. Allotriophagy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    #6
    Well, any FW device really. It allows you to daisychain several devices on one computer port without a hub. Like SCSI.
     
  7. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #7
    Another = Any

    I said "another" meaning "any" and then added "usually" meaning those are mostly what people hang with. Old SCSI had a 7 drive limit. I have 12 HDs hangin off different FW and USB 2 ports on this Quad G5. Plus an external FW DVD Writer and a pair of EyeTV digital broadcast tuners - one FW and one USB 2.
     
  8. ebouwman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Wow, maybe you should think about getting a new MacPro with 3 TB of storage lol:p

    But that would mean shelling out a lot of $$ and meanting that you would have to move all of those files on External Drives over to your new computer :(
     
  9. Panayotis02 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    #9
    I don`t have an internet connection (except from a mobile device which has a 5gb monthly allowance), so is there an other way?
     

Share This Page