1 Final Question from a n00b.

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Pipian, May 26, 2003.

  1. Pipian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #1
    If I bought an ibook right now, would I automatically be able to run classic applications in OSX without needing to install OS9?
     
  2. Tequila Grandma macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
  3. wsteineker macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
  4. Megaquad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    #4
    well, only if you have system folder of OS9 somewhere on HD.
     
  5. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #5
    scrap that - the new ones DO come ready to run OS9
     
  6. gerror macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #6
    some apps do not run in emulation, like VGS or some games I discovered. You have too boot in os9
     
  7. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    Yep, I got a few classic apps running without any extra installation on my part.

    Congrats on your new machine, I knew the feeling! And don't worry about asking questions, this forum rox for being the best information place about Macs that I have come across in years! :D
     
  8. andyduncan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    #8
    Just to clarify what I think everyone else means: The new iBooks (or any other new macs) do not boot into OS9 AFAIK. They do, however, have a version of OS9 installed on them purely for use in classic mode. So, out of the box, all new macs are capable of running apps in classic.
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Actually, the new iBooks still do boot 9.
     
  10. andyduncan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    #10
    Oh, sweet. my bad. I figured they were crippled in the current revisions.
     

Share This Page