1 ghz Ti is actually a 667 mhz?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by johnwon, Sep 24, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #1
    I ran Xbench on my 1 ghz Ti powerbook and it said that my processor is the PowerPC @ 667 Mhz. I don't get it. I defragged it using Norton and I did Xbench again, and it still says that its a PowerPC @ 667 Mhz. I have 1 gig of ram too. Xbench version 1.1.1. My "About this Mac" says that its a 1 ghz processor. What's up? Is it the Xbench or is it just that Apple screwed up? Can anyone help?javascript:smilie(':(') It says that my version is 7455 (Apollo) v3.3. Powerbook version 3,5. thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Its a 1ghz. When on battery and having the processor set to reduced mode it runs at 667mhz. My powerbook reports a 534mhz in xbench. Run the program with the powerbook pluged in and then on battery with the processor reduced and you will see the performace difference. I have no idea why xbench doesnt always report it right.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #3
    It still says its 667 mhz, not 1 gig

    My computer was and is plugged in and I put the energy setting at highest performance and it still says 667. I guess I'll have to ask xbench.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #4
    Re: It still says its 667 mhz, not 1 gig

    if your tag is supposed to be from the princess bride (best movie ever), it's a holocaust cloak, not a suicide cloak.

    / tangent.

    sorry about that, it's just that we have to stand up for accurate representations of art.

    actually related to your post:
    have you compared your results to any published results? are your stats similar? if so, i wouldn't be too worried about the processor name. if not, i would be concerned as to why my computer was running at less-than-optimal levels even while plugged in.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #5
    thanks for the correction Baby Duck Monge

    Thanks for the correction, its been a while since I've seen it, but I love the movie. I checked with Xbench and saw that my performance was similar to the other Ti powerbooks. But they have 1 ghz on their xbench. Oh well. Thanks for the help, and the correction.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    Try zapping the PRAM and running it again.

    I could be wrong, but I think I remember hearing about a known error (known to users, if not to the xbench people) where the processor is read as too slow if powermanagement has not been reset in a while.

    In any case, the problem is not with your computer, but with xbench. Your computer is 1 Ghz, regardless of what xbench (it's rather imperfect software if I may say so) thinks.
     

Share This Page