1 gig worth it?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by CaptainCaveMann, May 24, 2006.

  1. CaptainCaveMann macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #1
    So crucial has a 1 gig stick for 167 bucks. Right now im using 2x 256 and wondering if it would be worth it to go with the 1 gig stick. Anyone else made a similar jump?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    It depends on how RAM intensive your work is. But 512 MB is the bare minimum, so you'll likely see a nice boost if you up it to 1.25 GB.
     
  3. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #3
    I would say yes. I upgraded my TiPB from two sticks of 256MB RAM to two 512MB sticks and the difference was quite noticeable.
     
  4. CaptainCaveMann thread starter macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #4
    The only time ive really noticed a big slow down is when using Imovie hd, or have about 8 or 9 plus apps open at one time. I do edit a lot of video and it can get very sluggish. I dont know if this due to lack of ram or processing power. Maybe both?
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Oh yeah...more RAM will definitely help you out.
     
  6. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #6
    More RAM will help the video editing for sure, as well as the slowdown with multiple apps open.
     
  7. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #7
    Please don't pay $167 for a 1GB stick, at that point you can get 2GB for about 20 bucks more. Please... don't do it!
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    Not for his machine.

    But point taken...OWC has 1 GB modules for $113. They're a great vendor...I've bought from them and never had a problem.
     
  9. iCaffeine macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    somewhere...
    #9
    I second that! Great company to deal with...
     
  10. Ryan5505 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #10
    greensboro

    faintember, do you ever go to the comp USA store in greensboro for apple products? I have and the apple rep there his horrible. I am from Winston Salem
     
  11. CaptainCaveMann thread starter macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #11
    The max ram i can have is 1.256 i believe.
     
  12. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #12
    You are correct...and he's talking about different RAM.
     
  13. CaptainCaveMann thread starter macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #14
  14. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #15
  15. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #16
    Never. I bought my first mac (a 700MHz G4 iMac..the "lamp" design) from Comp usa. Never went back to them again as their customer service was crap. I should drop by sometime and harass him then....could be great fun!....

    errr...sry...back on topic...look at DMS and OWC as well. Looks like you can get RAM that is certified to work for $112.
     
  16. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #17
    Yeah sorry. I assumed a new Intel Mac because that is what everything is these days. And Crucial has outrageous prices like that for DDR2 as well.

    Anyhow, it still stands, that is a high price for a 1GB stick. I put 1.5GB in my ibook g4, and i think i got a samsung 1GB for around $100.
     
  17. nnick macrumors regular

    nnick

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #18
    I bought 2 1GB Corsair chips from Newegg for $89 each.
     
  18. cntblah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    #19
    i just got 2 1GB gigaram from newegg.. one of the appears to be bad - can't boot at all when it's in.

    putting the RAM in myself was a royal pain in the ***!

    the screws are teeny-tiny and hard to get out without stripping.

    the "stick" you use to eject the RAM that's in there can be hard to get to.

    you really have to push the RAM in hard, and it hurts your finger tips!

    if you can get an upgrade preinstalled for a decent price it would definitely be worth it!
     
  19. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #20
    Spoil yourself and buy the damn thing...excuse my language ;)
     

Share This Page