1 or 2 cpu's

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by giganten, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    #1
    If I buy a MP with one 2,8 GHz processor can I buy a second cpu later?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #2
    this has been answered, but you "can", good luck finding a heat sink though. Also, good luck finding the actual CPU for under $500 (what the upgrade costs from Apple). If you want dual CPU's, get dual CPU's, you most likely will not be adding a second cpu later.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    #3
    Okay, thanks for the answer.
    And I will search next time :D.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #4
    Don't sweat it ;)
     
  5. macrumors regular

    mac2maverick

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #6
    Do you know what socket is used, cus the xenon uses 2 different sockets?
    also can u use 2 different possesors ?
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    No. They have to be matched.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #8
    Actually all dual and quad core Xeons use socket J / LGA771. Non Xeon Core 2 Extreme use socket T / LGA775.

    Xeon are Server/Workstation class processors.

    Core 2 Extreme are Enthusiast/Desktop class processors.
     

Share This Page