1 x 30" Cinema + 2 x 23" Cinema = How?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by AkosPapp, Mar 17, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Osijek, Croatia, Europe
    #1
    Hi everyone!

    I need some advice regarding which graphic cards should I use to connect 2 23" Cinemas with one 30" Cinema :confused: !?

    Dual G5 of course.

    Some links are appreciated well!

    Thank you in advance,

    Akos Papp
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    you want to have 3 monitors on one machine?

    with all that display real estate, what will you be doing?

    D
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Osijek, Croatia, Europe
    #3
    One of my clients is working on Video Editing. He has a small studio and now he has a big problem.
    I'm trying to solve his problem. :D
     
  4. macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Osijek, Croatia, Europe
    #5
    Nice, nice, but... thats not the solution in THIS case...
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #6
    Solution is:

    Geforce 6800U or 6800GT with ATI 9200 ME (PCI)
    or
    ATI X800 with 2 x ATI 9200 ME (PCI)
    or
    Geforce 6800U or 6800GT with ATI 7000 ME (PCI)
    or
    ATI x800 with 2 x ATI 7000 ME (PCI)

    6800 will drive 30" and a 23" with remainder from PCI card

    X800 will drive single 30" and you will need 2 PCI cards
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Osijek, Croatia, Europe
    #7
    Thank you for the answer.
    So, the existing "ATI RADEON 9600 XT" goes into the trash?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #8
    9600 or 9800 any variation

    do not support the 30" .. so they take up the only slot (8x agp) that does.

    yep, sell it on Ebay.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #9
    You need an AGP card that can drive the 30" display (and possibly one of the 23" displays) and PCI card that can push one or both 23" displays.

    Personally, I'd put the 30" display on its own adapter and find a dual-head PCI DVI card to push the 23" displays, should such a thing exist. Then I'd spend a few hours calibrating all three to match one-another.

    EDIT: D'oh. Someone beat me to it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Osijek, Croatia, Europe
    #10
    We are talking about PCI-X, not PCI slot. (dual G5, 2.5GHz)

    Thx.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    MrSugar

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    #11
    Yeah, you are going to have to use a PCI graphics card to run 1 23" display. There is no way around it. As far as I am aware there aren't any PCI-x graphics cards out. Of course PC has PCI express but that is different than PCI x.

    So you need to have a 6800, that will run a 30 and a 23. Then an ATI card to run the other 23 (as mentioned above).

    Although the X800 does run only 30, you can run 2 monitors off of it (unless I am wrong on the specs). So you could have a x800 setup with just 2 cards. PCI and the X800 card
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #12
    MrSugar

    I do not think the x800 will support 2 DVI (digital) displays. I think its problem is it will only do a single 30" and then 1 VGA (analog) if one desired.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #13
    Regardless, does the same principle not apply?

    You need one "badass" card to run the 30" and (optionally) one of the 23"s. You need a "not so badass" card to run one or both 23"s (depending on which card you deemed as "badass").
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #14
    Yeah, but aren't there plenty of dual-DVI PCI cards out there?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #15
    Chris

    You are on the right track with everything you have said but that statement.

    I know of no Dual DVI PCI cards, now you might have me on that one.. but I cannot remember or think of one.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #16
    The Radeon X800 has a dual-link DVI and an ADC port. So you could power the 30" and a 23" with an ADC->DVI adapter. That means you only need one PCI graphics card to drive the last display.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #17
    Yep.. Yippy

    My bad, you are most correct.

    My original table is incorrect (slightly).
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #18
    Actually, since we're talking Mac, you're probably right.

    Here's a dual-DVI PCI solution for PCs, though, which is actually what I was thinking of:
    http://www.matrox.com/mga/products/g450_mms/home.cfm

    Sorry 'bout that. I still tend to think Windows first, since that's where I've been for the last fifteen years.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Osijek, Croatia, Europe
    #19
    Thats OK.
    Any suggestions for the "Best Buy" card?

    Thanx,
    Akos
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    MrSugar

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    #20
    he beat me to it, but yes, the X800 has an ADC port along with its DVI
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    #21
    PCI-X is backwards compatible with regular PCI cards. The problem you can run into is if the notches aren't cut on the PCI cards. They would work fine in a PCI slot but not in a PCI-X slot. I use an Audigy 2 and a ATI HDTV wonder, both 32 bit PCI cards in PCI-X slots on my dual Opteron.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #22
    how do you buy one of those, i don't even see a price
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Antwerp-Belgium
    #23
    try the contact button and send them an e-mail, since they are custom build they will have custom pricing as well off course ;)

    edit: I mean the about button and then contact...
     

Share This Page