10.1.5--how can i determine processor speed

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kevinuaa, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. kevinuaa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #1
    Hi,
    my gf's ibook 14 inch is running 10.1.5. How can I determine the processor speed? i want to buy her some ram--she's only got 256MB :<

    thanks for tips!
     
  2. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #2
    from the apple menu in the top left, choose "about this mac"...

    easy as pie...
    and i recommend crucial.com like many others...

    reality
     
  3. veedubdrew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    I'd suggest investing in OS X 10.3 Panther along with the RAM. 10.3 will have a noticeable increase in speed compared to 10.1.5. It's only $69 through the education store.

    FWIW, I've had great luck with crucial.com as well.

    -Drew
     
  4. kevinuaa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #4
    i know you can do that in panther, but on 10.1.5, it just shows that it's a power pc g3, doesn't give the speed.
    Thanks for any tips.
     
  5. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #5
    Duff-Man says...if you look in your utilities folder in your applications folder, you'll have something called Apple System Profiler (or System Profiler) - launch it and look through the info in the Hardware Overview section - it will tell you all you need to know....oh yeah!
     
  6. kevinuaa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #6
    duffman, thanks.
    i was looking for it but i thought it was called system proflier, not apple s.p.
    thanks again!
     
  7. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #7
    Duff-Man says...glad to help....I guess it is a bit confusing sometimes when Apple changes the names on their utilities...took a while for people to get used to "Disk Utility" when 10.3 came out too....oh yeah!
     

Share This Page