10.2.6 - Apple's Mouse Trap

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by digitalrampage, May 8, 2003.

  1. digitalrampage macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    We have just updated 4 machines on an AppleCentre floor in Australia. Now 3 of them work with a mouse!

    We used the downloaded 10.2.6 NON COMBO updator.

    Mice on our PowerMac, eMac, iMac 17" will no longer function AT ALL.

    Has anyone else seen this issue???


    ??????
     
  2. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #2
    Re: 10.2.6 - Apple's Mouse Trap

    I guarantee that repairing the disk permissions will fix this. I've had a similar problem off and on.

    Also I would be willing to bet you aren't using the Apple mouse. Also unplugging and plugging the mouse back in (often this take mutiple times or change the port they are plugged into) often gets them working.

    If none of that works then do an archive installation of OSX from the original disks choosing the copy setting option. Then perform all the udpates. You will have to restart and run the updater again maybe more then once.
     
  3. digitalrampage thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    We have just gone back using a WACOM tablet and re-installed using the COMBO updator, this fixed it

    Unplugging and plugging didn't make a difference
     
  4. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    Strange...I haven't heard of that at all...incidentally, which store are you at? (cos I'm in Sydney)?
     
  5. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    yeah, this seems a tad weird, but follow up one what MD said and it will fix it


    And I'm from sydney too, wondering what store it is
     
  6. Wardofsky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    #6
    Not from Sydney but also interested in which store.
     
  7. h'biki macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    i always combo update now. much less **** is likely to go wrong :)

    s.
     
  8. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #8
    I'm glad that someone is listening to my preaching. I believe the combo updater works better for one simple reason. After extended use permission files for some reason get all screwed up. I know most of us know about this now and repair them fairly frequently. Well what if the permissions for some files that the installer wants to replace are messed up? I think the installer assumes they were replaced when in fact they weren't. This is what causes all the errors people see after just doing a normal update.
     

Share This Page