10.3 and a stupid question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Roger1, Dec 22, 2003.

  1. Roger1 macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Hey people. I just installed 10.3 on my tibook, and I have a question about connecting to servers. In 10.2, all I had to do was go to Go/connect to server, and all the servers would pop up, including the ones that show up in apple talk. Now, when I try to connect to servers I get a box telling me to put in an ip number. Well, I don't keep a list of ip numbers to the servers laying around. Is there anyway I can see the servers in Appletalk (and thus their names) , or did I kiss this feature goodbye when I installed 10.3?

    edit: spelling
     
  2. 5300cs macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #2
    In an open Finder window, click on 'Network' (in the list in the left panel-thingy) and on the right should appear any servers available, AppleTalk, etc. Double click on one, and it should ask you for username/password.

    Is this what you were looking for?
     
  3. dukemeiser macrumors 6502a

    dukemeiser

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Location:
    Iowa
    #3
    There is no such thing as a stupid question. Just stupid people who ask questions. :D
     
  4. ryme4reson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    Cupertino CA
    #4
    Another question

    I deleted Safari, now how do I selected the dfefault browser? The only way to select a default browser is within Safari.
     
  5. blogo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    #5
    Why did you delete Safari?

    And you can set the default browser in the Internet panel in System Preferences.
     
  6. ryme4reson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    Cupertino CA
    #6
    There is no Internet Pref in 10.3, and Safari was corrupted so I had to delete. I reinstalled from another HD, as I couldnt download it from apple (the version wouldnt work)
     
  7. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #7
    If you still have the install CDs, use Pacifist (VersionTracker or MacUpdate) to install Safari only.
     
  8. Roger1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Not exactly. The district where I work has about 10 appletalk zones, and the servers have their own zone, called 'district'. All I see is local stuff. I don't see a way to change zones, so I can get to the servers.

    p.s. sorry for the late response. Wasn't able to get back on after posting.
     
  9. Roger1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    I figured it out. You need to turn on appletalk in directory access in addition to turning it on in the network preference. Now I see all my zones :)
     
  10. GovornorPhatt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Location:
    Where do YOU live?
    #10

Share This Page