10.4.11 to Lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by djsound, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #1
    Can I upgrade from 10.4.11 to Lion without losing everything? Would all my apps still work or no?...thanks. Yes im a bit behind haha
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Can't do. Lion requires 10.6.6 at a minimum. 10.4.11 ain't gonna cut it since you're probably still on a PPC.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #3
    More reason to buy a new macbook pro I guess once they work with Lion...

    I have a imac core 2 duo that was bought in about 2007
     
  4. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #4
    The developer release requires 10.6.6 but I'd be surprised if the final release does.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #5
    You will most likely not be able to upgrade directly from 10.4 but you should be able to do an archive and install like normal.

    As long as you have 2GB ram you should be good with your hardware.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #6
    Archive? I have never setup a mac os other then when I got this computer 4 years ago hehe
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #7
    It's an option when you boot from the install DVD. Archive and Install moves your current System folder to the side and installs a new one.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #8
    All the apps that I have installed wont work though anymore right?
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #9
    You'll need to wait until Lion ships to really know the answer to that, although there are some threads here that are reporting the status of apps.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #10
    I think I'll just wait a bit and get a MBP with it when it really comes out..
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #11
    You shouldn't assume that he is on a PPC. The 1st intels were shipped with Tiger.
     
  12. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    10.4.x shipped on quite a few Core2Duo machines. Why would you believe the OP to probably be on PPC?
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #13
    Why else would they be running Tiger? It's a perfectly reasonable assumption to make.

    Not that there's anything wrong with Tiger...
     
  14. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    No it isn't. By that logic they could be running Leopard. Why would they be running Tiger if they could be running Leopard? Why would they run Leopard if they could run snow leopard? :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page