10.4.4 No internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GoCubsGo, Jan 23, 2006.

  1. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #1
    My access to the internet, at least my WEP enabled router has been off and on since I installed 10.4.4. Does anyone have this issue and if so, how can I fix it?

    I am using a Linksys router wireless G on a powerbook 1.67 15". The powerbook is 5.5 feet from the router.

    I am using someone else's internet right now, my VIOP phone works and the other PC (windows) in the house is running on the private network.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Try sharing a large file to or from the PowerBook to determine if it's an internet or a network issue. Also, try running the Network Diagnostics from the Network pane of System Preferences to see if that tells us anything. :)
     
  3. annk Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #3
    My Internet connection via my D-Link wireless router has been off and on as well - this has affected all three Macs in the house (two PBs and one Mini). I didn´t put two and two together until your post, but I think it started happening after 10.4.4.

    For us, it´s not a network issue, as we can establish an internal network and see each others´ machines and share files. Airport shows as being on in network preferences, but the airport icon on the menu bar is greyed out, and we can´t connect to Internet.

    The only solution I´ve found thus far is to unplug the router for at least one minute, then plug it in again.

    My router assigns random IP-numbers, and as far as I understand it, these change - but only after several days. At first I thought the problem was because I´d been away for about a week, but it happened again recently when I was only gone overnight (with my PB). And the Mini was in the house, asleep, with an Internet connection at the time it was put to sleep.

    I´ll be interested to hear what others have to say about this.
     
  4. dr427 macrumors regular

    dr427

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    #4
    I had similar issues with on 10.4.3, but then again I had an 802.11b instead of g router (I have g and 10.4.4 now with no problems). Of course using a $ in front of my WEP key helped too! I didn't know about that one when I switched to Mac.
     
  5. annk Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #5
    What does that mean? :confused: Putting a dollar sign in the front of the WEP password? If so, why does that help?
     
  6. jblock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #6
    I had to use the dollar sign with my older Belkin router. It was actually noted in one the airport guides on Apple's site.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    It has to do with whether the router thinks that the password being passed to it is a Hexadecimal string or an alphanumeric string, I think. Dollar signs were used traditionally to denote text strings in programming languages. Which makes it seem less, but only slightly less, odd, hopefully. ;)
     
  8. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #8
    not sure about Linksys (i have a Netgear) but i had a similar problem with the DHCP dynamic ip assignments not always working properly - and for wireless conections to this router the client has to be set to use DHCP, you can't assign an address to the client machine yourself.
    I was solved by configuring the router to always assign a specific ip adress to a particular mac address (mac as in the hardware identifying number rather than anything to do with apple) using Address Reservation.
     
  9. GoCubsGo thread starter macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    I do have it assigned to assign a specific IP address to each computer. I also can get to the network, but can't get to the internet. I did reboot both the modem and router, all is well for now, but my signal for being so close to the router is super weak.
     
  10. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    Has your Wi-Fi reception level always been low before this problem persisted? PowerBooks are known for somewhat poor reception due to the aluminum enclosure. I get on average about 50% signal strength, but speed is still fast.
     

Share This Page