10.4.4 Took my Ram!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by discoforce, Jan 11, 2006.

  1. discoforce macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #1
    Well maybe not, but that's when it seemed to happen.

    After installing 10.4.4 (and all the other updates) yesterday, I clicked on "About my Mac" from the apple menu and noticed that my RAM had been cut in half: 512 down from 1Gig. :eek:

    Openning the system profiler I found that my 15 Powerbook (FW800) believes that the "lower" Ram slot is empty and the "upper" one has 1 512 stick of Ram. I opened it up and confirmed that both sticks of Ram were still there, so I swapped them but continue to get the same message: Only 512 of Ram and the "lower" slot is empty.

    I'll be taking it in for repair, but I wanted to know if anyone else experienced dissapearing Ram following updates. Anyone?
     
  2. iDM macrumors 6502a

    iDM

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    The Commonwealth of PA/The First State-DE
    #2
    Oh great I have the FW 800 Pb 15in ( I presume you mean the 1.25ghz since they were known by the name FW 800) with 1.25 gigs of ram.

    I have not noticed any failure of the ram slot and really really really hope that I do not. Hypothetically if my bottom ram slot did die and it was found that 10.4.4 was at fault in others with the 1.25 Rev A PB would Apple step up and do anything about this do you think?

    Since I am not covered with AppleCare?
     
  3. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #3
    That's the one, but I wouldn't panic yet - it may have failed a while ago and I simply noticed it after the update.

    Whether they'd fix it if it turned out the update was to blame? I'd sure as heck hope so!
     
  4. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #4
    10.4.4 took also my 17" Powerbooks RAM!!!!! :( Now my System Profiler shows only 512 instead of 1GB!
     
  5. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #5
    You've got to be kidding. You haven't heard of this problem? There was some sort of thread a while back about RAM slots going bad in 15" PBs after an OS update. It seems to be one of those horror stories that you just hope never happens to you.
     
  6. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #6
    Does anyone actually think that making a new system install would solve this?
    Because when i boot with "cmd-opt-o-f" and type "dev /memory .properties" i can see 2 entries in dimm-types and 2 in dimm-speeds. :confused:
     
  7. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #7
    Ok, i just booted into the Tiger Setup on the Install DVD and checked if the old System Profiler is able to locate the second RAM stick, but it didnt. Does anyone know a solution? :confused:
     
  8. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    It's a known problem. Your lower RAM slot has died. You need Apple to fix it... there is no other solution.
     
  9. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #9
    Guess that i ll have to do that then. Thank you for the reply ;)
     
  10. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #10
  11. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #11
    Yes, i am under warranty :D I ll let you know what i was when i get it back. I will probably bring it to the store on February 14th when i am back from vacation, so its going to take a while...
     
  12. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #12
    That's great you're under warranty because th 17" PB is not covered by the Memory Slot Repair Extension Program. My 15" also was not covered (1.25GHz), but I too had purchased Applecare.

    For my repair they replaced the logic board and the display (???), but I now have two working 512MB sticks of ram again. They had to order the logic board, so your repair might be somewhat delayed. I would expect if you take it to the store they'll have to ship it out for repair.

    Good luck!
     
  13. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #13
    That's great that you're both under warranty.
    Bear in mind, that if it happens once, it can happen again. If possible - don't let your batteries die completely. Both times when it happened to me the battery had gone and the machine was starved of power.
     
  14. heaven macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #14
    Oh, i ll watch out now. Thank you a lot for the tip ;)
     
  15. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #15
    Thanks AlBDamned, that's good advice. Everything I've read about this problem is that changing the logic board is NOT a permanent solution.

    My condolences on your powerbook BTW, that was a heart breaking story.
     
  16. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #16
    No problem and look at it this way, if it goes three times while it's in warranty, make a little fuss and it's likely they'll give you a new machine.

    Thanks. May it be an example of what not to do. ;)
     
  17. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #17
    Time left for 2 more logic board failures = 419 days and counting. Maybe I should turn the heat up in here...

    ;)
     
  18. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #18
    In my experience, you should need around 180-200 days (or a little over six months at 3 months per board).
     
  19. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #19
    Okay, so I'll make sure to:
    1) Protect the outside of my powerbook with my life, but
    2) Pray like heck that the insides melt away, so I get a MacBook :rolleyes:
     
  20. maverick808 macrumors 65816

    maverick808

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Scotland
    #20
    Open up your PowerBook and get some wires hooked into a high voltage line (relatively high for a logic board I mean... I'm not talking 200 volts). Connect the wires to some of the connectors on your lower slot. Hey presto... a blown lower RAM slot that will look exactly like it died on it's own.

    I would never do this though as it's just too risky. But hey, if you're a gambling man then go ahead. I was just pointing out that it's easy to melt the insides while the outside looks perfect. Even a faulty FireWire connector can start your PowerBook smoking.
     
  21. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #21
    :p Thanks for the suggestion, but actually I'd be thrilled if my powerbook just keeps chugging along. It's just the idea of it giving up out of warranty. Then I might start looking for wire strippers ;)
     
  22. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #22
    If you're anywhere like the end of your warranty and don't have it - get AppleCare.
     
  23. discoforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #23
    Thanks. That's what I meant by 419 days and counting: That's what's left of my applecare.
     

Share This Page