10.4.8: Volume Control Funky Now

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Transeau, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #1
    After updating to 10.4.8, my volume control is spazzing out.

    My external speakers are working, all my normal sounds are coming out... but the volume control keys on the keyboard are adjusting the volume for the Internal Speaker... ??

    I can use the mouse and adjust the volume from the menubar, but not the keyboard.

    Anyone else having this issue? It worked perfectly up until about 30 minutes ago when I installed 10.4.8

    edit: Sorry, it's a mac pro.
     
  2. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #2
    Restart! I've had a few wierd glitches with sound and particularly volume control on my MBP under 10.4.7. A restart always did the job :)
     
  3. Transeau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
  4. Transeau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #4
    Fixed it!

    I searched for "audio" in my home folder...
    Deleted "audio.xsd" and "com.apple.audio.AudioMIDISetup.plist",
    logged out and logged back in and all is fine again.
     
  5. Mezzanine224 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #5
    Are there any other fixes for this? I had this problem when I first got my Mac Pro, and then the problem went away.

    Now, it's back and I have no idea what to do to fix it. I've tried restarting, unplugging the speakers, changing the settings in the preferences and restarting again...nothing I do seems to work.

    So the problem is that I'm getting sound from my rear speaker output, but that the volume control only effects the INTERNAL speaker. If I plug my speakers into the front headphone jack, everything works fine, but I'd like to see if I can get this problem fixed.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Transeau thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #6
    Did you try deleting the files I listed above?

    Also, does the problem exist with a new user account?
     
  7. Mezzanine224 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #7
    I searched for, but couldn't find those files. I'll try again though. And no, this is the only account on the computer, and it's the same one I've been using since August.

    Thanks.

     
  8. macMonte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #8
    I have the same problem. I looked for those files but couldn't find them. The problem goes away after a restart, but eventually returns. What else can be done?
     
  9. spencecb macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #9
    Try opening and quitting GarageBand. I know that sounds silly, but I had an annoying problem on my iMac G5. It stopped properly playing some Quicktime video, and audio wasn't working in Quicktime on my HD or the internet.

    Simply opening GarageBand, creating a new project, and quitting the application fixed this.
     
  10. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..

Share This Page