10.4 Server & PHP

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bigandy, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #1
    I'm setting up a webserver on my G4 running Tiger Server. I needed PHP, so headed over to entropy.ch to get Marc Liyanage's great build. Selected and installed 5.1.4 for Apache 2.0 and guess what? Hey presto, won't start again.

    the log reads as follows when trying to start the service:

    Code:
    Processing config directory: /etc/httpd/sites/*.conf
     Processing config file: /etc/httpd/sites/+entropy-php.conf
    Syntax error on line 8 of /etc/httpd/sites/+entropy-php.conf:
    Cannot load /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so into server: (reason unknown)

    Arse. Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #2
    i presume what's on line 8 of the conf file is the request to load /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so ? Or something else that the loading is predicated on.

    It says syntax error so it might be something simple.. can you post it?

    You've checked also that the file it's asking for is actually present at /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so ?
     
  3. bigandy thread starter macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #3
    been doing a little digging through SSH...

    /usr/local/php5/libphp5.so is there and has stuff in it, but

    /etc/httpd/sites/+entropy-php.conf i can't access through pico because of the '+' i'm assuming. it comes up saying "new file" :(
     
  4. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #4
    can you just get rid of the + ? The entropy install might crap out tho if it's expecting it to be called that (which seems odd to begin with). maybe make an alias to the renamed one using the + name (for Entropy) and point Apache to the new one. Or see if there's a php.ini file in the entropy install that points to it that you can redirect
     
  5. semaja2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #5
    What about using VIM to edit the files does that go through?
     
  6. bigandy thread starter macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #6
    it seems that the +entropy-php.conf is a shortcut to

    /usr/local/php5/entropy-php.conf

    so i'm going to try and just call that instead, and see if that works. i'll report back.

    the Entropy installer won't work to reinstall..
     
  7. bigandy thread starter macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #7
    reporting back:

    Despite running Apache 2.0, the installer for it didn't work. After following instructions to comment out the PHP4 installation's files on the server, I installed 5.1.6 for Apache 1.3, and it's working fine :confused:

    Oh well, another thing I don't understand!

    But at least it works :D
     
  8. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    server

    I just went through this whole thing... I'l have to look through my notes on what I tried, it took me many nights of pulling my hair out, I now pretty much do everything from a command line, I find server to have pretty poor interfaces for most things... I did end up with the entropy php package (all just to get GD installed)

    DD
     

Share This Page