10.5.2 Image Master on PowerPC

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Eidorian, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #1
    I'm using our recent MacBook Santa Rosa laptops for our image master. I know that the retail Leopard installer disc has produced an install image viable on PowerPC and Intel. Has anyone had any experience using a supposedly only Intel Leopard installation on PowerPC yet?
     
  2. Spievy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    I received a Leopard update disc w/ my 2.0GHz refurb iMac. The disc works great with my G4s. I have updated Leopard on the list of cpus below with this 1 disc. However the disc DID NOT specifically say Intel only.
     
  3. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Thanks

    I had a good feeling that the disc had binaries for both Intel and PowerPC. It's 6 GB for just the operating system alone! Tiger (PowerPC) was a slim 1.9 GB.
     
  4. Spievy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    I would think if your Leopard disc is specifically made for updating Intels, you wouldn't be able to boot into the Leopard installer with a PPC. It wouldn't make sense to have both boot binaries on the disc but not the installer.

    Pop it in and see what happens :)
     
  5. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I have the grey machine specific MacBook Santa Rosa discs and not the Drop-In Upgrade one. It's not going to work but thanks.
     
  6. Spievy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia

Share This Page