10.8.3 - can't run apps from any other drive now!

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by unfrostedpoptar, Mar 15, 2013.

  1. unfrostedpoptar, Mar 15, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #1
    Help! Can someone else confirm this. I have apps installed on other drives, including encrypted bundles. Suddenly - pretty sure timing matches 10.8.3 - they won't run. I take any .app (e.g. vlc.app, but I've tried several) and copy it to another folder on my primary drive. Works fine. Copy it to another drive and double-click and get nothing! This worked fine for the last several months every single day and just stopped working a couple of days ago.

    What's going on? I've checked with Disk Utility and various System Pref panes and don't see anything. This is driving me nuts since I rely on this working, especially with portable apps.

    Thanks!

    David
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #2
    Check the Console Utility for any relevant log messages at the time you try to launch an app.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #3
    Thanks.


    If I try and run the app off the other drive, I get this:

    2013-03-16 11:06:03.148 AM com.apple.launchd.peruser.502[208]: ([0x0-0x250250].org.chromium.Chromium[2566]) Job failed to exec(3) for weird reason: 1
    2013-03-16 11:06:03.000 AM kernel[0]: exec of /Volumes/test/Chromium 9.38.20 PM.app/Contents/MacOS/Chromium denied since it was quarantined by QuickTime\x20Player and created without user consent, qtn-flags was 0x00000046

    I tried to fool it by making an alias of this in /Applications but got the same error. So I went deeper and made a symbolic link from a terminal. No go.

    So, what's this about Quicktime not allowing apps to run?


    As a temporary work-around, I just went to move ~/Library/Application Support/Chromium to the other drive. Again, I first tried aliasing this over and got this error:

    2013-03-16 11:01:57.371 AM com.apple.launchd.peruser.502[208]: ([0x0-0x23e23e].org.chromium.Chromium[2514]) Exited with code: 20

    However, the ln -s link did work!

    David
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #4
    I did some searching and found similar errors reported. They all said it would be fixed with xattr -d -r xxx.app. I tried this and several variations and it made no difference.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #5
    Are any of these drives mounted with the noexec option? If you run "mount" in terminal what do you see?

    james@silverbox ~ $ mount
    /dev/disk2s2 on / (hfs, local, journaled)
    devfs on /dev (devfs, local, nobrowse)
    /dev/disk0s2 on /Volumes/Windows (ntfs, local, read-only, noowners)
    /dev/disk3s2 on /Volumes/Backup (hfs, local, journaled)
    map -hosts on /net (autofs, nosuid, automounted, nobrowse)
    map auto_home on /home (autofs, automounted, nobrowse)
    /dev/disk1s2 on /Volumes/Data (hfs, local, journaled)

    See where it says things like "nobrowse" and "read-only", do the drives say "noexec" anywhere?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #6
    david-rMBP:~ david$ mount
    /dev/disk1 on / (hfs, local, journaled)
    devfs on /dev (devfs, local, nobrowse)
    map -hosts on /net (autofs, nosuid, automounted, nobrowse)
    map auto_home on /home (autofs, automounted, nobrowse)
    /dev/disk2s2 on /Volumes/test (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled, quarantine, mounted by david)

    I'm guessing the "quarantine" attribute is not a good sign! How do I get rid of it? Why did it suddenly appear a few days ago or was it always there but 10.8.3 is now treating it differently?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #7
    Since nobody else has, I'm just posting to confirm that I *can* still run apps from other drives in 10.8.3 so it is an issue with your machine - and therefore must be fixable - rather than something that affects all users.

    My second volume has "hfs, local, journaled" when I run mount. I have no idea what quarantine is.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #8
    Got it! Thanks to all the suggestions, I found this page:

    http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...lag-causing-bin-bash-bad-interpreter-operatio

    Turns out that somehow the quarantine attribute was added to the .dmg image file that contained the folder with the apps that wouldn't run. I unmounted the disk image and then ran 'xattr -d com.apple.quarantine xxx.dmg' and now it all works!

    I'm sure glad I have them easy-to-use Apple computers and not those confusing Windows ones :)

    Thanks again!

    David
     
  9. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #9
    And now I've remembered what quarantine is; it's the thing that stops downloaded apps from running until you explicitly approve them. I can't explain why you didn't get a confirmation prompt to bypass it though...

    Edit: This one:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #10
    Yes - I thought it was related to that. The confusing part is the attribute wasn't on the app - or even the folder or volume. It was on the .dmg file that held the volume/folder/app which is why I didn't see it when I was searching.
     

Share This Page