Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sequence

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 11, 2006
Hey guys, I'm looking forward to buy a camcorder and since this will be my first one, I obviously need some advice. I'm looking for a camcorder that will give me very good quality (don't need HD, and I couldn't considering my 1000$ Price range...). I need a camcorder that is very easy to use with a mac, my friend has a HDD Sony camcorder and he had some problem getting it to work with his mac out of the box. I'll edit my videos in iMovie and burn 'em to DVD's. So it'll either be a DVD or an hard drive camcorder ; no Mini-DV. I won't use still pictures so I won't bother if the quality is poor with stills...

If anyone here has bought a camcorder which fits my needs, could you upload a 10 sec or so sample so I can see what the quality is like.

Thanks guys!

(Sorry if my english isn't perfect - I'm still learning...)

gekko513

macrumors 603
Oct 16, 2003
If you're going to edit your videos in iMovie I don't see you gaining anything from going with a DVD or hard drive camcorder instead of a Mini-DV camcorder. If anything you'll just get worse quality with DVD/hard drive, since they use heavier compression before you import it into iMovie.

Sequence

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 11, 2006
Why would they get compressed before getting imported in iMovie? I mean, can't I directly access the files by plugging the HDD Camcorder in the computer? Or are they in a proprietary format or something?

The only reason I'd like DVD or HDD is because at home we have an HD TV set and when we plug a DV cam on it, it looks horrible.

Don't get me wrong here but I think iMovie supports up to 1080i... Why would they support such high resolutions if at the end, it would look worst than miniDV?

I'm no expert, just help me understand please...

marioman38

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2006
Long Beach, CA