100GB Hard Drive on 17" Powerbook, 5400RPM or 4200RPM?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Apple!Freak, Jun 5, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #1
    Anyone know which it is?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #2
    5400 rpm.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    You suuuuure? ;)
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Are you unsure? Select the 17" PB from the Apple Store. It doesn't seem that ambiguous. 5400 RPM. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    :p... Just making sure.
     
  6. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    Go with the 5400 rpm over the 4200 rpm. A 4200 rpm Hard Drive is just to slow.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #7
    I have a question for you Apple!Freak, how did you config your 12" PB with 1GB of RAM? Even though the new ones come with 512 MB of ram, it is still two sticks of 256. You can't remove the the bottom, so I see the only possibilities as 256, 512, 768, or 1.25 Gb.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    You sure can. Besides mine came with one stick of 512, not two 256's.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #9
    Then why do they say they are only configurable to 1.25GB or memory? I just checked the Apple website and if you select a 12" PB, it says 2 sticks of 256.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #10
    Because 1.25GB of memory is all the processing board can handle.

    Don't know what to tell you, mine came with one 512.
     

Share This Page