1024mb DDR in a single chip

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by aic, Apr 28, 2003.

  1. aic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    I have a 1.25 DP MDD and the other day I was reading the Green Guide. I was looking at some hardware prices in an advertisement I saw next to an article and it had 1024mb DDR RAM in a single chip. Will we be able to use these in our computers? I hope so imagine 4GB or RAM, does anyone know anything about this?
     
  2. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #2
    i just did a search for 1GB DDR RAM, read some stuff about it that related to PC's... i haven't heard annything about it working on Macs though.

    hope someone can tell us more about this... i'm interested to know now.
     
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    Re: 1024mb DDR in a single chip

    The MDD systems are limited to 2 GB of RAM.

    According to the specs for the MDD systems, you can use 1 GB modules as well as smaller modules, but using larger modules won't get you past the 2 GB limit.
     
  4. evoluzione macrumors 68020

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #4
    yeah i'd imagine you'd be able to use the chips, but the OS won't address above 2GB. I remember plugging 2GB in when the max was 1.5GB and the finder took up 700MB!!!
     
  5. imacryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #5
    what if you put it in the expansion slot of a new iMac? Would the iMac then be able to max out at 1.5 GB?
     
  6. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #6
    but then again 1.5 gigs of ram is too much. would we see advantages other to opening more apps?
     
  7. IndyGopher macrumors 6502a

    IndyGopher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #7
    Scanned images can be, to put it mildly, HUGE. 1.5 gigs of RAM is a good amount, to be sure, but it is not necessarily a superfluous amount by ANY stretch.
     
  8. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #8
    so Macs can use 1GB DDR RAM chips, yes? as long as you don't use more than the max allowed RAM?
     
  9. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #9
    You need to check the specs for each Mac as to what the actual limits on memory are and if they support the 1 GB DDR dimms.
     

Share This Page