12 or 15 inch powerbook my dillema of form vs Function

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by revenuee, Mar 22, 2005.

1. revenuee macrumors 68020

revenuee

i'm kinda torn between a 12 and 15 ... I NEED portability

but i have a Lombard G3 and that thing is massive and heavy, and the 15 inch is not much lighter then that one -- which is where the 12 inch seems more appealing at 1.5 lbs difference to my Lombard.

What i am torn about is the size of the screen -- i have a 19" monitor that i would interface with when at home, and then i have a 20" iMac that i have at work that i would be doing MOST work related things on, the laptop would be for me as i spend very little time at home during the week -- but i'm really big on getting up and out of the confines of offices, and would rather work sitting on the floor in the hall (my main work is photography, and i'm studying film, i'm aloud to be eccentric ... LOL)

the laptop would be used for essay and article writing, but also as a photographer i would be working on my own digital imaging working with 6 MP files

ideally i would probably be better off with the 15 inch so that i can work smoother BUT, weight has become a concern.

On a typical day i carry,

my DSLR, and an assortment of lenses and Flash
    my laptop (my lombard)
    a journal (i take notes of conditions i was working with ie, lighting, notes for outlining my ideas for essays and articles, as well as working out personal stuff in it.
    Notebooks for classes -- i don't really care to use my laptop to take notes -- like is said, i use to write essays, and image manipulation (so slow -- hence the upgrade) -- i have a desktop G4 that i use for more serious work, but as i mentioned, i hate the confines of desks and offices.
    Course readings -- need them for essays, and studying.