12" Pb

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Approx, Feb 7, 2003.

  1. Approx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Hey folks!!

    How much ram can the 12" PB be upgraded to?

    God weekend to you all.
     
  2. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Re: 12" Pb

    640 MB is the max. There is a 128 MB chip soldered in, and one slot for another chip. put a 512 in there and you got 640 MB.
     
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    Re: 12" Pb

    640MB Maximum on the 12: PowerBook (Same limit as the iBook).

    128MB Builtin and a single SO-DIMM of up to 512MB in the memory slot.
     
  4. Approx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    12" pb

    Thats lame. The 17" does it have 512 integrated or two dim slots?
     
  5. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    Re: 12" pb

    The 17" PowerBook has 2 dimm slots. Each dimm is 512MB. The default is 512MB (1 dimm) with the opiton to add a second 512MB dimm when you order it.
     
  6. Approx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Thanx

    Then i proberly will go for a 17" or a new 15´4" :) The gov pays for me :) cause of my little hand problem. :)
     
  7. JSRockit macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Re: 12" pb

    640MB is still a good amount of RAM.
     
  8. gotohamish macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #8
    I hear what you're saying, but I've seen 1GB sticks of RAM, admittedly for ASTRONOMICAL PRICES. If these are available for laptop sizes of RAM, do you think the powerbook would actually understand 1,128MB of RAM, I'd imagine it would.

    Would the PMs understand 3 or 4GB if you were rich enought to buy the sticks?
     
  9. JSRockit macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    Yeah...it could possibly recognise it. I have heard of people using two 512Mb in a Pismo for a GB of ram...it is only suppose to accept 512MB.
     
  10. gotohamish macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #10
    Yeah, i've heard that some of the earlier CRT iMacs can take more than originally stated. Though I don't know if it affects stability.
     

Share This Page