12" Powerbook on 20" ACD

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by toomuchstereo, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #1
    I'm about to pick up a new 12" powerbook, and can't find any data on what resolution it will run in extended desktop. So my question is if it will run my 20" ACD at native resolution?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #2
    Your 12" pb should run 20" or 23" ACD at the native resolutions. You can do so in the screen spanning mode or clam shell mode. My 12" PB is set up in the clam shell mode with a 20" ACD as 20" screen is more than enough. PB's graphic card is powerful enough to run either ACDs. But, no 30" though.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #3
    Clam shell mode is with the screen shut right? And are these features built in to Tiger?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    #4
    Yes, I use mine in clamshell mode all the time, since for the next few months I don't need portability.

    I actually ahve a dell24fpw connected to it. Close the lid then press any mouse or keyboard connected to the laptop and the ext. monitor will become the main display.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #5
    Yes, the clam shell mode is to use an external screen only by closing the PB. All PBs come with this feature. I am not sure if that is OS specific.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #6
    Thanks alot, i appreciate your support, and the order is in with apple can't wait. Should be great to help me with college, nice big monitor at home and small 12" on the road.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #7
    Powerbook Clamshell Question

    Can I run my 12" Powerbook (recent vintage) just for itunes, with either speakers or headphones, with the screen shut? It seems to go to sleep when I try it.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    I have a 12" PowerBook and an external display as well, works beautifully. I love being able to take my PowerBook with me, but I can also have the feel of a desktop when I'm at home.

    Sososowhat, your PB won't run with the lid closed unless it's hooked up to an external monitor, keyboard and mouse. Otherwise, it will just go to sleep.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #9
    you have to have the PB plugged in witht he charger and a screen plugged in as well. Use your keyboard or mouse to wake it up and then the computer will come out of sleep and you can use it.
     

Share This Page