12" powerbook vs. 15" powerbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by klyau6, Jan 19, 2004.

1. klyau6 macrumors member

Jan 19, 2004
    Hello! I am currently a college student (econ and business major) and have always used PC's. I'm looking to switch on over to Mac and am particularly looking at the 12" combo and 15" superdrive powerbooks. My questions are, as a student, would a 12" be sufficient enough? The pro's of getting the 12" are that with the money saved, I could load up on RAM, the AirPort Extreme Card, Office v.X, and an IPod...Or should I spend the extra dough and get all the goodies that a 15" SD comes with? Most I've read encourage the 15" so it's swaying my decision a little bit.

Additionally, if I did get the 15", would the DVD-R really be necessary? I read people rarely use it, but it is extremely beneficial for backing up. However, I have never backed up on any of my PC's (all i have are mp3's and papers and random stuff that if i lost, i wouldn't have to go jump off a bridge), and probably wouldn't burn too many DVDs anyway. That saves $180 for me right there, which is why I ask. I know some people might say, "well if you don't want the DVD-R, then a combo drive might be better," but after calculating the airport extreme card, memory, backlit keyboard (i really want this feature!), etc., i figure i might as well just pay the extra $$ for the better features the 15" superdrive comes with...just minus the DVD-R!

and FINALLY...would you recommend purchasing the AppleCare Protection plan?

I should mention that my main purpose for this laptop is for school and entertainment purposes (web surfing, chatting, uploading photos, playing w/ webpages, etc.)

Thanks in advance for any feedback...it's greatly appreciated, and I look forward to making the switch over to the Mac side!
  2. NeatGekko macrumors member

Jan 2, 2004
    What I think