128 or 64 powerbook video card for final cut pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jaquarat, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. jaquarat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #1
    i want to get a powerbook for some light final cut pro video editing. of course i'd rather have the 128 video card, but since that option is only available on the 1.67 model, would i be losing any fcp performance by getting the stock 1.5 model with the 64 video card and thereby saving myself $250-$350??? does the 128 video card contribute significantly to final cut pro???

    thanks!
     
  2. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #2
    I don't think the extra VRAM boosts FCP much (I'll be corrected, I'm sure, if I'm wrong) -- but if you ever plan to use Motion (or do much 3d gaming), definitely go for the VRAM upgrade.
     
  3. James L macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #3
    Yup, What Chris said....

    2D video editing is not GPU dependent. It IS CPU, RAM, and HD speed dependent though!

    Certain parts of the OS slough of some tasks to the GPU, and 3D apps (Motion, games, etc) use the card extensively.

    By the best book you can, lots of ram, quickest HD, biggest GPU, etc. You are future proofing your machine (it will last longer), increasing resale value, and you may grow into it in ways you did not realize.

    Cheers,

    James
     
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    You wouldn't loose any performance, but it is a very good idea to upgrade that card. With the higher card, if you use two displays you will have enough VRAM for the Tiger effects. You will also have a more future proof card. The GPU has little to do with video editing, but it is a very good idea to get that upgrade because you can't upgrade that on a laptop.
     
  5. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #5
    Ah ... a detail I omitted. Thanks. :)
     
  6. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    If you don't spend the money to get the card upgraded, spend the money for an upgraded hard drive and try and max out the ram.
     
  7. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7
    You can always up the RAM later (and cheaper). Not so VRAM.
     

Share This Page