13" Mbp Only 1.5gb Sata ? - SOLVED!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacModMachine, Jun 12, 2009.

?

Which connector is your new unibody Macbook pro

  1. Sata I - 1.5Gbit

    217 vote(s)
    69.6%
  2. Sata II - 3.0Gbit

    95 vote(s)
    30.4%
  1. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    can people check this and see, some users are reporting only 1.5gb sata connection speeds.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
  4. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #4
    What is the make and model of your hard drive?
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
  6. macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #7
    yes it should be 3 Gigabit. i'm using a ocz vertex 60gb. worked fine on previous 15" umbp, but has been giving me all sorts of problems on the new 13" mbp, even with fresh install.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #8
    I posted in that other thread also

    I'm thinking there's some kind of bug and it could be fixed. It's just to bizarre.

    I'd be on the phone unitll I found out a definitive answer. (I'm tempted to call and I haven't even got a new one (I'm a Vertex user in the MB 13")
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #9
    I'd love to get to the bottom of this issue. I just sold my MBA in order to get a new uMBP. My MBA battery life was horrible. I'm thinking about getting the 13" but if this is true, then perhaps I'd get the 15".
     
  10. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #11
    i hope not - otherwise i would be royally pissed at apple.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #12
    Please do:

    click on the apple at top left - about this mac - more info - click sata under hardware section - look at speed:
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    under your profiler, click the apple , about this mac , more info , serial ata

    that will let you know what your running
     
  14. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #14
    I use Intech Speedtools.
     
  15. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #15
    hmm thanks guys. i see my first gen mb is running at 1.5 with the wd 500gig 5400 (got earlier this year)

    is my mb able to run at 3? im pretty sure my hdd is 3g/s
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    who knows...i dont think firmware can enable 3gb sata

    so i think your stuck and everyone with 13" will be stuck on 1.5gbit sata
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #17
    first gen mb will run at 1.5 as that was the technology at the time. even if you install a hdd that can run at 3.0, it will be limited by the sata interface and run at 1.5. the limitation is in the hardware, so no software update will upgrade it. that is what troubles me about this new discovery in the 13" mbp
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #18
    Ummm...i just spent a ******** on this new 2.53 ghz 13''...I'm not sure im understanding this...what does it mean?
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
    this is not confirmed,

    but it might be the case that the 13" mbp has 1.5gbit sata...which means i just wasted a ton of money on 13" mbp's and ssd's :(
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #20
    First (CD) and second (C2D) gen MBP (and MB and Intel iMacs and Minis) use the GMA950 chipset (ICH7m SATA controller), which is 1.5 gbps.

    The 9400m has a 3 gbps SATA controller. Provided the drive does, too, then you should have 3 gpbs.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #21
    it should, but it doesn't for whatever reason. hoping we get enough data to verify that this is a big mistake
     
  22. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #22
    thanks you guys
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #23
    just checked on 13" MB, and its 3gigabit with stock 5k4 drive.. so i doubt they degraded the MBP from MB.. ?!
     
  24. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #24
    Not much. They are talking about the speed at which the hard drive can send data through the connector cable to the computer. 3.0GBit SATA can send 300 Megabyte per second, 1.5GBit SATA can send 150 Megabyte per second.

    However, that is the speed at which data can be sent through the cable. The hard drive cannot actually read data from the disk at that speed. That is at the moment limited to maybe 80 or 90 Megabyte per second. So at the moment, 1.5 GBit SATA vs. 3.0 GBit doesn't make much difference for a laptop. It would make a difference if you connect a RAID drive to a MacPro that can exceed the 150 Megabyte per second limit of 1.5 GBit SATA.

    For comparison: Firewire 400 has a maximum of 50 Megabyte per second, Firewire 800 has a limit of 100 Megabyte per second. So Firewire 400 _does_ actually slow a fast external hard drive down.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    andymodem

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #25
    Brand new 13" MBP, installed a Western Digital Black 7200RPM 320GB HD and it's reporting Sata 1.5 when it's a Sata 3 drive.
     

Share This Page