14 GB iPhone 4??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Edrubin, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #1
    HI All,
    I recently purchased a 16GB iPhone 4. I recently realized that on the phone and when plugged in it says 14 GB. I know some of the phone is used up for operating system, but shouldn't it still say 16GB for the total amount. I thought that was odd. Thanks for the help.

    Eddie
     
  2. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    binary vs decimal counting
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #3
    Plus the fact that the iphone itself has to have space for the operating system and such.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    #4
    No it wouldn't list 16gb, it only shows you how much memory/space is available to you.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #5
    That's standard on all hard drives, OP.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    JonBorichef

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    #6
  7. macrumors 6502a

    ipoddin

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    You mean you've never noticed, after how many years, that a hard drive always has some space used up and never has the amount of space available as advertised on the box?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #8
    [​IMG]
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #9
    Things I own that display HD space like this:

    PS3
    PSP
    2 iPods
    3 iPhones
    MBP
    work computer

    and on and on....
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Did you guys even read the OP?

    They said they knew some of the space was taken up but they were wondering if it should say 14 or 16.

    To the OP, nothing is wrong. Ignore everyone else.
     
  11. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Decimal counting gives you the advertised 16GB or 16,000,000,000 bytes. However iTunes and the iPhone (all software in general) works in binary which means you have to divide to get the binary number.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #12
    Bringing this back up as I wondered the same thing as the OP.

    I have worked in computers for over 20 years so most of what is said here is not factual.

    Yes, 16,000,000,000 is not 16GB. American representation of GB tends to use 1,000,000,000 for a GB. Even using binary which is 1024, rather 1000 units, the figure showing in iTunes should be 14.9GB

    I believe the issue is display rather than anything else. I assume that iTunes simply drops the decimal place but it does show it elsewhere so I think this is a bug that should be fixed myself.

    If you sell a device as 16GB then it should have 16GB, and display 16GB.... in whatever version of GB you subscribe to. Just my opinion.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura
    #13
    Yes but with that being said, you are forgetting about the OS. So no matter what it would never be 16GB available. At most it would be around 15.4GB.
     

Share This Page