15" pb and dell 2005fpw?

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by Rob587, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Rob587

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    anyone have any pics of a setup of a 15" powerbook plugged into a dell 2005fpw, or just some pics of a dell 2005fpw?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #2
  3. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I should be picking my 2005FPW up from the couriers depot on Saturday morning. I can post some pictures for you if you like. What do you want to see?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rob587

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #4
    prefferably a 15" powerbook, or a powermac, or anything else made by apple. Basically w/e you got. lol.... thanks
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I've got a 15" PowerBook so no worries there :)
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    There is a pic like this already in the post your imac g5 thread (in this forum), but it's a pretty dark image, so here's a better one in light :)

    [​IMG]

    The screen is great :cool:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rob587

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #7
    thanks edesignuk, thats much better.... id still be interested in see ur setup robbieduncan. thanks again
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    OK just picked up the display. It's fantastic. I'll post some pictures in a little bit...
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    OK pictures up.

    The display is superb. It's really bright, the colours are good, the response time seems good too. I like the fact that you get a DVI cable in the box (along with the normal 15 pin VGA cable). Watching videos full screen is perfect.

    Now all I need is a VESA wall mount and my Mac mini to arrive...
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #10
    It is a lovely display, nice pic's

    I have an 17" TOPCON LCD monitor and it is also DVI but as I noticed on yours is it a USB hub as well :confused:
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Some screens have USB hubs, some don't. Apple ones have firewire hubs as well iirc. It doesn't run the USB over DVI though. You need to run a separate USB cable from your computer to the display as well as power and DVI.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #12
    Thanks
    That is what I tought I saw
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rob587

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #13
    sweet, awsome pics... thanks alot
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #14
    The 2005FPW is a cracking display, wouldn't hesitate to get one. It's a steal at the price and it compares to the Apple cinema displays quite easily (in my opinion anyway :)).
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #15
    I am looking at possibly upgrading my external display ( Samsung SyncMaster 170MP LCD) to a 20". With my educational discount, I can get the Apple one for $899. Even though the Dell is cheaper, I like the option of having more firewire ports. I have an external harddrive, my iPod and my iSight and it is a pain in the butt only have one on the computer. With the screen, I can leave the iSight always plugged in and then connect the harddrive and the ipod together. I was already considering a firewire hub, so the difference between the two displays (sorta) cancels out a bit. And the fact that I could get an Apple one makes it that much better. :)
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #16
    As depressing as it is to say, seeing the apple cinema 20" and the 2005fpw next to each other - I feel the 2005fpw is a superior display, although not as sexy.

    [​IMG]

    Yeah, I know that's an iMac G5 but the thing on the left is a 200fpw :).
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #17
    powerbook and the dell 2005fpw

    does anybody know if you can operate the powerbook in close lid mode and use the dell 2005fpw? Basically, can you operate your powerbook without having it open and use the dell as the screen only?

    I also wanted to know can you display 1680x1050 with a mac powerbook on the dell display?
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    debroglie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #18
    yes

    and yes
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    #19
    Is it true that you can damage the screen of the powerbook by operating it closed lid on an external display. I heard that the heat could dmg it, but I'm not sure if that's true.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rob587

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #20
    I also have the same question. Is that why ppl like dariuslatamus in the setup pics thread has his slightly open? or is it b/c it goes to sleep?
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #21
    I'm not sure what the actual operating temp of the G4 in my Powerbook is, but I noticed that the avg CPU temp was a good 10-15 degrees (F) cooler with the lid open.

    That's why I leave mine open. The second display doesn't hurt, either. ;)
     
  22. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Apple certifies 15" and 17" PowerBooks for lid closed operation (not sure about the 12"). You obviously need an external keyboard and mouse to wake the sleeping machine up.
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #23
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page