15" PB dead when I woke up this morning...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by worldwearyeyes, Feb 23, 2006.

  1. worldwearyeyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #1
    I left it running last night so it could complete downloading two Christmas bonus episodes of the BBC version of The Office. When I woke up this morning, it was dead. It was plugged in all night, and the AC adapter light was orange, when it obviously should've been green. I tried unplugging, taking out the battery, resetting the PMU.

    Any clues here? I did add 512mb of RAM about 2 weeks ago (the stick was straight out of another PB, so it was a good brand)...I don't know if that would have anything to do with it...it's had no problems since I installed it.

    I guess I'll take it to the genius bar tonight, but I thought I'd try here for answers first.

    cheers...
     
  2. crazydreaming macrumors 6502a

    crazydreaming

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT -Westminster College
    #2
    My roomate has an older 15" Powerbook where sometimes he has problems waking from sleep. He'll have to hold down the power button for a long time to restart it.

    Only time I've had a hard time starting my computer was once when I was on an airplane. It just wouldn't start. I don't know how many times I pushed/held the power button before it finally turned on. Maybe try hitting the power button some more?

    Take it to the genious bar... I gotta get mine in for some problems I've been having. I wish there was an easier way to get support after the 90 days phone support runs up.
     
  3. worldwearyeyes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #3
    The PB is only about 2 months old. The "sleep" light isn't on either. I think it might be a battery problem because 1) the orange charging light still has not turned to green after 10 hours plugged in and 2) when I push the button on the battery, only 1 light quickly flashes on and off...seems to me that the battery isn't taking a charge.

    who knows...
     
  4. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816

    jadekitty24

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    The poor section of Connecticut
    #4
    It's totally dead? No start-up sound, no hard-drive whirring? A while back I had the same situation with my iBook, I'd press the power button and I'm guessing I just didn't wait long enough. The volume must have been on mute so that explains the lack of start-up sound. I just didn't wait long enough and I kept hitting the power button, further screwing things up. I gave up, went to take a shower, came back and it was running. Slowly, I might add, but it started. That's probably not the problem but I thought I'd throw it out there. Good luck with that...it's sad when a Mac dies.
     
  5. crazydreaming macrumors 6502a

    crazydreaming

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT -Westminster College
    #5
    hmmm.. Maybe try removing the battery? Also unplug any devices plugged in.. just a thought.
     
  6. worldwearyeyes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #6
    yeah, tried it.
     
  7. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #7
    Sounds like your power adapter might be toast which led to a dead battery. When my last adapter died, it would still light up orange when plugged into my ibook, although it was brighter than when it was correctly charging.
     
  8. crazydreaming macrumors 6502a

    crazydreaming

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT -Westminster College
    #8
    Sounds logical, however I blew my power adapter a few months ago and when I plugged it into my PB I would not get any light.
     
  9. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #9
    Um. OK :confused:

    Clearly we had different experiences with a broken power adaptor. As mentioned above, mine still lit up. Perhaps his is having the same problem.
     
  10. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Woke up and it was DEAD?

    I bet it was Professor Plum in the Study with the Wrench.
     
  11. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #11
    Hold down the control and apple keys the same time you push the on button.
     
  12. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  13. worldwearyeyes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #13
    Nothin....the "genius" is sending it off to get fixed...he had no idea. thanks for the insights, folks.
     
  14. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
  15. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #15
    Maybe your computer doesn't like that show and killed itself rather than help you download it. :)

    Either that, or you haven't sacrificed enough virgins to the computer gods.
     
  16. 50thVert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  17. worldwearyeyes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #17
    not cool! hey, maybe apople will just replace it with a MBP after days of not being able to fix it!

    wishful thinking...
     
  18. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #18
    One of my memory slots just went bad over last weekend. The one nearest the motherboard.

    My indicator was that Word crashed and screwed up my permissions. I had pages and pages of permission changes when running Disk Utility.

    I assumed a software issue, backed up everything, reinstalled the system and software. Since I had been running Panther, I decided to go ahead an install Tiger. Checked the permissions. All ok.

    Then I launched Word. Same thing happened. Word died. Tried to launch again and it would not. Checked permissions, many changes.

    I checked About This Mac to see what version of Tiger was installed and noticed 512MB RAM showing vice the 1GB. Checked out my memory. Both okay. Just the bottom slot is bad. So now I am running with 512MB in the top slot with the bottom one empty.

    Apple Care is still good so it should be a free fix.

    Guess I better do it soon as I want a G4 MB since I run Classic alot.

    ...of course I would not turn down a faster G4 version than what I have.
     

Share This Page