16 core Mac Pros

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GoKyu, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #1
    Disclaimer: Before I start, what I'm about to say is probably 2nd hand knowledge, and even I'm a little skeptical about the source, so take this as a rumor and *NOT* as fact.

    When I was at work yesterday (retail), a guy came in and told me he needed a new UPS for his Mac. I asked what kind he had, and he said it was a brand new 16 core Mac Pro, which just came out in the past week.

    I immediately went to Apple's website to check, and of course there was no mention of any kind of 16 core Mac Pro. I asked him about it and he said that he works for Atlantic (the recording studio), and that the big name places like those usually get offered higher end systems earlier than consumers.

    I'm still a little skeptical, but he sounded pretty believable. I'm sure Apple would've been working on higher end systems, although I thought maybe a 12 core was coming next, not a huge jump to 16.

    Take it for what it's worth, sounds pretty cool though :D:apple:

    -Bryan
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Intel is not planning 16-core CPUs until 2010 at the earliest, based on the roadmaps I have seen at IDF and other shows. I don't believe they even have Engineering Samples available.

    The Nehalem line will eventually offer a 16-core option, but the currently planned ones are four and eight cores. Now, Nehalems do support HyperThreading, so an 8-core (or twin 4-core) Nehalem system can execute 16 threads.

    I expect Apple to move the Mac Pro to Gainestown, which will be available in a four-core package. So two of those would execute 16-threads. So perhaps this fellow, if he really has an engineering sample Nehalem Mac Pro, would be confusing the 16 threads with 16 cores.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #3
    Maybe that's what he meant...I would think a 16 core machine would *have* to be physically larger (to some extent) to house the extra processors and heatsinks...
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #4
    If this guy really had a 16-core MP, he would be under NDA. Why would he want to risk lossing his NDA status by telling you and let you go and tell the world, that's beyond me.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    It's horse ****, no way he has a 16-core MP. Bloody recording industry, full of crap :p
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    I wonder though. It was probably just 2 8 core xserves really close together so they looked 1 mac. :D
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
  8. macrumors demi-god

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Dunnington will not work with the Mac Pro, however, due to physical, electrical and chipset issues.
     

Share This Page