160 gig only 128gigs when formatted

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jaesk8er, Nov 2, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    jaesk8er

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    Alright I have an older Dual 533 G4 tower and I just installed a Maxor 160gig H/D and when I formatted it would not get any bigger than around 128gigs. I know that I have a slower ATA i think 66 but is there any way to get that drive up to 160 with out going to a firewire case??? Any one know of an pci card?? or any other idea's?????

    Thanx
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. macrumors demi-god

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    For anything pre 2nd gen MDD I think 135gig is the limit for Apple's onboard IDE controller. If you buy a PCI controller card you'll be in business.


    Lethal
     
  4. macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
    #4
    You need a ATA 133 PCI Card, Sonnet sells it, (www.sonnettech.com) but OWC also sells them for about $25 cheaper (www.otherworldcomputing.com)

    Sonnet= $99
    OWC=$75

    Good Luck, I have a 200gb HD and I need to save up for one of those cards :p
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #5
    Just to be clear, the limit on most older machines is 137GB. When formated 137Gb would not suprise me to turn out to be 128Gb. Get a pci ide controller.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #6
    Actually, the limit on ATA/66 is exactly 128GB, if I recall correctly.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #7
    Thanks for the correction, I must have been thinking of ATA 133 because with ATA 133 i am pretty sure it is 137 but i could be wrong.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #8
    The limit on ATA133 is in the thousands of gigs. This is why he needs to get one:p . The limit on the ATA100 chipset is 137 and the limit on the ATA66 was much smaller I thought but I guess it's obviously 128.

    Cheers

    BEN
     
  9. macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
    #9
    Yeah I think ATA 100 is what I have in my G3 MiniTower because I have a 200gb Drive in there and I think I formated the drive at 137gb or so, as soon as I get that ATA card it looks like I'm ready for another format..:D
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    if your going to end up having to buy a pci card for it, then why go with ata/133? take the hd back and get an sata one, and an sata card.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Toekeeyoe, Japan
    #11
    I guess you have the latest firmware?

    Isn't this related to LBA 48 bit access, but I'm not sure if Apple changed this in their firmware... so if you have the latest firmware, the only option would be to use a controller that has LBA48.

    -Wyrm
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Penticton, BC, CANADA
    #12
    Same problem

    I had the same problem...the question is.... if I instal a new ide controller, will I have to reformat the drives to reclaim the space? I partitioned the 160GB drive into 3 partitions (1-20GB, 1-50GB, 1-58GB). When I place the drive on a new controller, will I have to reformat? I could move all the info to another drive and then back again.

    Florio
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #13
    Check the third partition. While the first two will fill up fine, the third one will stop you at the point that makes it 128GB. Partitioning is a proposed workaround that does not work for the ATA/66 128GB limit issue.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #14
    I think the conclusions here are wrong

    I have a Seagate 160GB drive installed in my Bondi Rev. A iMac, and I was able to access the full 160GB when installing Yellow Dog Linux, so that would imply that it is *not* a hardware issue.

    I've since installed Mac OS X (because network performance under Yellow Dog Linux is abominable) and ran into this limit (both Mac OS 9's and OS X's disk setup software limit you to 128GB.)

    So it's something in the software. Has to be.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #15
    Re: I think the conclusions here are wrong

    No, this is a hardware issue. The original poster needs a PCI ATA controller card to access the full 160GB.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #16
    Don't confuse the bus speed with the addressing ability of the controller. To get past the 137GB limit, you need 48-bit addressing.
     
  17. macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #17
    get a new controller, like what they said. or firewire enclosure
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #18
    Guys, you're not making any sense.

    Are you implying that the disk controller in my Rev. A Bondi 233MHz iMac is more recent/capable than that in a dual-G4?

    Did you read my post??? How can it be hardware if I can access the full disk using Linux?

    (and BTW the limit is 128GB, not 137GB. And this is true regardless of whether I try to use Mac OS 8, Mac OS 9.1, Mac OS 9.2.1, OS X Beta, Jaguar or Panther to format.)
     

Share This Page