17" iMac with insomnia

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Arcus, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. Arcus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #1
    My new 17" iMac cant seem to sleep well some nights. It seems that is likes to wake up spontaneously. iChat off, iTunes off. No ssh, no web server.

    I googled around a bit and only founf one solid match but the guy seems to think its related to his microwave coming on or power issues.

    Is anone else having this issue? Any clue on how to get it to sleep.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    What Bluetooth devices do you have, if any? If you have some/any, go to the Bluetooth pane of System Preferences and uncheck Allow Bluetooth Devices To Wake This Computer. :)
     
  3. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #3
    Bluetooth is off. iTunes off. Sharing in iTunes off. Just boot and it wont sleep.

    Im going to try and repair permissions.Seems to be a catch all.

    Side note: Auy tutorials on makeing things like permission repair automated that you guys can recommend?
     
  4. wetbaloney macrumors newbie

    wetbaloney

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Location:
    in a little grass shack
    #4
    yes -- I'm having the same problem (among others). People at the Apple Store suspect a system board problem, but I just haven't had a chance to bring it down there yet. I am decidedly unimpressed with this new system. Quality control is poor. Came with a keyboad that had some dead keys. What a pain!
     
  5. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #5

    System board problem? WTF. Thats crappy. Lovely.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Maybe try resetting the SMU before getting too worried. Do this by shutting the machine down, pulling out all the cables, leaving it for about ten seconds (maybe a touch more) and then plugging the power cable back in as you hold the power button. Then press the power button again to actually start the machine up and plug all your other cables back in. :)
     
  7. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #7
    Do you have a screen saver on before it goes into sleep?

    If so, maybe movements in the mouse are 'resetting' its cycle.
     
  8. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #8

    Well, you are right about the screensaver. After turning it off sleep now works correctly in both the timed sleep and when I manually put it to sleep.

    Oh well, no biggie. Glad it wasent the system board.
     
  9. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #9
    Just an update for those interested or with the same problem -

    Its seems that it still will wake out of sleep on occasion. Happened at 3:44 AM this morning. This actually was the same time that an email came in. Although MAIL isnt running I noticed that it will stil update its dock icon with the number of unread pieces of mail.

    Im going to shut this off and see if this can get rid of this lats bit of sleep disorder.
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Weird. That's about the same time the machine usually runs its daily maintenance tasks. In the Energy Saver pane of System Preferences, what Wake Options are checked? Did you reset the SMU? :)
     
  11. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #11
    The only option I see is the "Wake for ethernet network admin access" and that is not checked. I didnt reset the SMU yet. Will try and report back.
     
  12. mdntcallr macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    bring it in for a repair. hell you bring it in enough. they may give you a whole new unit.

    i would bring it in. hope its fixed. if not bring it in again. if not... then they may give you a core 2 duo replacement.

    hell never know
     
  13. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #13
    WHy should I bring it in for repair? Is it broken? Im not the type of person just to bring something in to be a pain in the rear. IMHO thats being childish and I may risk damaging the unit further with all the travel.

    Oh and uhh...it is a CD2. *points to siggy*

    Ill reset the SMU and see what happens. *goes to google what the heck the SMU is*
     
  14. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #14
    I *think* theres a problem with the Mighty Mouse driver that causes it randomly to move to the top-left corner of the screen. This happens occasionally with my (wired) Mighty Mouse. Try unplugging the Mighty Mouse and see if it still happens-but only if you have/use a Mighty Mouse.
     
  15. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #15

    Oh oh!! Another clue!! Ill try that also. Awsome!
     
  16. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #16
    Make sure to report back-I hope it solves your problem. Good luck. :)
     
  17. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #17
    Since the mighty mouse test was easy to do I tried that tonight. I unplugged the mouse and let the power management system put her to sleep. The computer went to sleep for about an hour and woke up. :(


    Next....resetting the SMU.

    I just did it. So far so good. Ill let you know in the morning....
     
  18. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #18
    Update:


    Well, I woke up this morning to find that my iMac was already awake.

    I think I made a mistake but it may have lead to an interesting clue. After resetting the SMU I happened to notice that the backgroud was set to change every day. Hmmm.....So I turned it off. The background was set to the Apple desktop picture of lightning. After changing that I put it to sleep.

    The odd part is that when I woke up and noticed the iMac was up it had a different background.

    I put it to sleep again.. then woke it up to find that it had the lightning background again. What the??

    Anyway, now that the SMU has been reset I will try it with the mouse unplugged again. I will try repairing permissions before doing this.

    Off to work.
     
  19. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #19
    Have you tried fsck-ing it? Instructions are on Apple Support.
     
  20. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #20

    Havent tried that yet.
     
  21. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #21
    I'm having the exact same problem with my 24". This thing is barely a week old... It will not automatically sleep, and it I manually tell it to sleep it wakes up at some point because the sleep light is not flashing the next time I get to the computer. Flashing = asleep, solid light = monitor off but computer awake
    This is very frustrating. Thanks for any help or suggestions.
     
  22. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #22
    Razorhog Ill keep posting till its solved.
     
  23. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #23

    Question: I read on apples support site that this process is correct except that you are not supposed to hold down the power button while plugging it in.

    Going to try the Apple way of resetting the SMU tonight..
     
  24. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #24
    Found the difference. The intels have an SMC which is reset differently. the process MJ posted is for a G5 iMac.
     
  25. Arcus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #25
    Thursday 10/19 Update:

    Reset the SMC as per Apple's instructions. Still no go. The dam thing still wakes up.

    Im running out of ideas. The only one I can think of is maybe that I have some power fluctuations and its waking the unit up.

    So far:

    Shut off bluetooth
    No screen saver
    No switching backgrounds
    Shut off Wi Fi
    Reset SMC
    Unplugged everything from the back of the unit (I will have to do this test again. Im not 100% sure I unplugged the printer.)

    I didnt do fsck yet.
     

Share This Page