17 inch Studio CRT (ADC) no onscreen controls...

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by astupiddream, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. astupiddream macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #1
    Hi everybody. I just got into possession of a 17 inch Studio Display, the CRT one with the ADC connection (Translucent back) and am hooking it up to my dual 1.8 G5 powermac. I plug it in and the picture is good and everything, but I can't access the onscreen controls. So I can't seem to mess with the screen geometry; I only get Display and Color tabs. I tried 'Detect Displays' and it knows its a Apple Studio Display, but it doesn't add any options. Pressing the displays button to access the controls does nothing, but the power button will turn the mac on and put it to sleep. Also, the USB ports on it don't work, but i'm not entirely worried about those.

    It didn't come with a Cd or anything, so I don't know If I'm missing something. I am up-to-date on updates. Any help on how to get those controls would be much appreciated.
     
  2. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #2
    i love these displays, but i think they were only meant to work well with the Powermacs they shipped with (AGP G4s). i think i remember when switching to OSX i lost all controls of the CRT... or sometime around then. firmware or something.

    i'd say stay away from these displays unless you have the origianal powermacs it came with. i sold mine with the PM i had. it still works great as far as i know.

    *they never had drivers and they are not digital ADC they are analog.


    peace.
     
  3. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #3
    I know at the lab I work at we have OSX running on some PMG4's with the same displays and they have the controls, so i don't think it's OSX.
     
  4. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #4
    what video card are you running?

    the original one i had shipped with a Radeon. can't remember the model number.

    here's some other pages with specs and issues with this display:
    specs
    issues with Radeon 9000 Pro
    issue/hack


    peace.
     
  5. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #5
    I'm running the GeForce FX 5200. Thanks for the links, looking at them my guess is it something with the USB, as the picture and power are fine, but USB controls the rest.

    I have a usb card in one of the PCi slots, and took that out to see if it would help, but no dice.
     
  6. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #6
    I have reason to belive it is the video card now. I hauld the display to another mac where it worked fine. So, perhaps the Fx 5200 needs replaceing or such.

    If anybod is running the FX 5200 and the 17 inch ADC CRT studio display, please let me know how yours runs so I can determine if it is the video card not working right, or won't work at all.
     
  7. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    I had a PM G5 1.8 single with 5200 and that same monitor for a little while and I had a Geometry tab in the Displays preferences. When I read your first post I thought it might be the USB in the monitor, but now that you said the monitor works fine on another machine, you're probably right that it's the USB in the video card.

    As to the idea that support for that monitor has ceased at the hardware or OS level, well that's mistaken. Apple still supports ADB and SCSI at the OS level, and you can install a SCSI card in a Power Mac G5 (if you could find such a card) and get things working fine.
     
  8. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #8
    well my mac is a recondishioned Rev A., and it's still under apple care, I'll give them a call tomorrow and see what they have to say about the card.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  9. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    You're welcome.

    They might give you trouble by saying something like "that monitor is out of its warranty period" or something similar. However, you should stick to the real point, which is that the ADC connector on your video card is defective. If all goes well they'll elevate your call to a product specialist and then that person will authorize sending you a replacement FX 5200. Otherwise they might advise that you go to your nearest Apple authorized service center.

    If you're super lucky they'll say they're all out of FX 5200s so they'll send you a 9800XT instead. :)
     
  10. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #10
    We can only hope!

    (hell, anything above the 5200 would be great.Thats what I get for going reconditioned, less options.)
     
  11. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    Good luck with the AppleCare call tomorrow.

    As for buying reconditioned, there are instances where people have received better machines than they ordered (either faster processor, or more RAM, more VRAM etc).. it's not common but I guess it's like playing the lottery.
     
  12. MegaSignal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #12
    No problems with mine except...

    I moved from a Dual 1.25 G4 to a Dual 2.0 G5. Here are the specifics:

    The G4 had an ATI RagePro of some sort; I'm not sure which model
    The G4 was running OSX Jaguar

    The G5 has the NVIDIA FX 5200
    The G5 is on Panther

    I have not had any problems with either the USB ports, color settings, or anything else...EXCEPT...shortly after migrating to the G5, a stuck green pixel developed within the upper right-hand quadrant. It had worked for about 9-months on the G4 without any pixel problems. Not a big deal, but DAMN IT SUCKS!

    Oh well...life could be much worse!
     
  13. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #13
    Yeah, mine has two sticks of 512 instead of 2 sticks of 256 RAM, so I did luck out somewhat!
     
  14. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #14
    they may end up telling you that monitor is not compatible on your machine/card... i don't think they will be sending anything new. but hopefully im wrong.

    i like those monitors; the color and clarity is awesome.


    peace.
     
  15. astupiddream thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    #15
    after talking to apple for over an hour it was determined to be the video card itself and they are sending me a replacement card.

    thanks to everybody who chipped in their information!
     
  16. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #16
    Congratulations on the 2x512 bonus RAM and on getting the problem resolved. It's good they didn't use the excuse that the monitor isn't supported, because ADC is a standard and the card is supposed to conform to it.

    You're also fortunate to have a good monitor. The one I owned had curves on the top left and right corners of the image, and it was not correctable in the geometry settings.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #17
    speakers near your monitors?

    the one i sold, the guy put speakers next to it and achieved the same effect... though they didn't warp as badly as i thought they would have.

    astupiddream - glad to hear it turned out. they could have easily used the 'not supported' excuse. nice of them to help you out.


    peace.
     
  18. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #18
    It was like that even without the speakers there, and besides the magnets in those speakers can't be that big, can they? The guy who bought the monitor from me put up a huge stink about the distortion even though I had multiple views of the monitor in the eBay listing where the curve was evident. Anyhow he didn't even read the listing before hitting "Buy It Now" so I'm sure he didn't really look at the pictures either. I hate dealing with such people, but I suppose it's good training in case I ever become a diplomat.
     

Share This Page