17"LCD studio display problems

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by shill, Dec 31, 2003.

  1. shill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    #1
    Problem with my Apple 17" LCD display when connected to my powerbook. When connected it displays at least 4 repeating screen images stacked on top of each other. After changing resolution (takes several times) display works but seems to lack red (color not correct at all) I had moved the display and thought somethng happened to it then but I hooked it up to a G4 tower and it worked brilliantly. Next I suspected the power adapter but it ran again on the g4 on the other monitor port perfectly with the power adapter. I then suspected the powerbook so I hooked up a Lacie crt to it and it displayed fine so I tried the apple again and again it behaved this erratic way. Any suggestions?
    thanks
    Scot
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    Maybe a stupid question but how are you attaching it? Via an DVI-ADC adapter?
     
  3. shill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    #3
    Not for the LCD display into the powerbook-for the Lacie to Powerbook yes..
     
  4. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #4
    Are you sure that's not the other way round? The 17" studio display only has a ADC interface and needs an DVI to ADC adapter to work. This adapter provides power and USB to the Apple monitors. The 15 and 17" powerbooks have a DVI adapter - this will work directly with most other manufacturers TFTs but not Apples.
     
  5. shill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    #5
    I'm sorry I didn't understand the jargon. I've been using this display for over a year with the powerbook with the power supply/usb adapter-as mentioned-now suddenly have unexplained problems.
    thanks
     
  6. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #6
    That's very odd then..can you try another apple display on your adaptor/powerbook. Maybe it's the adapter?
     
  7. shill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    #7
    that does seem logical but the G4 tower I hooked up to has a powered port and an umpowered port. The display worked fine through with the power supply on the unpowered port,, I even unplugged it to make sure it needed the power supply, it did it went off.
     
  8. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #8
    Hmmmm....stumped. Anyone else got any bright ideas?
     

Share This Page