17" MBP Ram questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slick316, May 2, 2006.

  1. slick316 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #1
    I hope someone can help me out with this one.

    Since the 17" MBP comes with 1GB ram standard, is it using both banks (512mbx2) or just one (1GBx1)?

    Also, I have a 1GB SODIMM DDR667mhz ram from my 17" Intel iMac, will this one work in the MBP?

    Thanks.
     
  2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    Click the apple, then about this mac. Then click more info. Then click memory on the left. Then look at the slots on the right and see if there's RAM in both or just one.
     
  3. BurtonCCC macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #3
    The MacBook comes with 1x1GB SODIMM.

    I'll leave the other question to somebody who knows for sure.

    Daniel.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    The iMac Core Duo, the Mini Intel and the MacBook Pros all use the same RAM.

    According to the Apple Store, the 1 x 1 Gb is standard, but you can drop the price by $100 by choosing 2 x 512. 'Course, then you're kinda pooched for upgrading, but there you go.

    I predict a rash of sellers advertising "MacBook Pro 17" $100 off Apple's Price!!!" and then supplying the 2 x 512 configuration. Bah.
     
  5. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #5
    And I predict a rash of people complaining about something (issue or not).
     
  6. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #6
    I know you're not getting smart with CanadaRAM. Shutup foo' 'fore Mr T. jumps out and pounds you.
     
  7. slick316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for the info guys.

    I don't have the 17" MBP yet, so that's why I was unsure how Apple did the ram configuration.

    As soon as they are available at the local Apple Store, I'm getting one. I was told they would have some in by the 5th.
     
  8. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #8
    No, I was pointing out that people are going to bitch and moan about the 17" just as much as they did/do about the 15"
     
  9. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #9
    1GB stick standard, the ram from your iMac i Doubt will work the iMac and MBP take two difference sized ram
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    Read it again -- the OP has the intel iMac CoreDuo model. They take the same RAM as the MacBook Pro.
     

Share This Page