$1900 Budget, PB 12 Loaded, or PB 15

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by pbunko, May 3, 2004.

1. pbunko macrumors newbie

I am a graphic design teacher. I have been told that the powers that be are updating my teacher machine for next year. My tech boss asked me if I wanted to spec. my machine...imagine that.

My quesiton: With the educational discount, under the $1900 budget (as close as possible) do I load up a 12" PB SD with memory etc., or do I opt for the 1.3 15" PB?

I have a super drive at home, so that is not one of my worries, but wondered what you would do given my (very nice) predicament.

2. cyks macrumors 68020

cyks

Considering they're shelling the $ for it...but you get to use it...
    I'd say opt for the PBook 15"...and out of pocket- spend the $ to up the RAM.
    I have nothing against the 12"- I just bought one 2 days ago, but the 15" is a far superior machine.
    Of course, if you don't want to spend anything out of pocket- then I'd say the 12" is really the only way you can go... since you'll need the $ to bump up the RAM asap.

3. Bhennies macrumors 6502

Definitely the 15". Especially if you already have a superdrive. The 12" is great for portability but really won't be good for layout etc.

4. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king

Just curious why you would need a portable for teaching a graphic design class? I personally think you should go for the most bang and get a tricked out dual 1.25 G4 pmac with a CRT monitor.

Do you have to buy new? If not, you could save even more going refurb.

5. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816