192 % CPU in Activity Monitor??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kdum8, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. kdum8 macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    How is this possible? VLC using 192% of the cpu? :confused:
    Is is something to do with Core Duo? I have a Macbook by the way.
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
  3. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    OK, makes sense. So is 200% the new 100% if you get my meaning? The computer is maxed out at 200% in other words?
     
  4. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #4
    Erm, I don't know, I only get 100% in AM and I have Dual Core...
     
  5. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #5
    yep 2 dual cores max out at 400

    1 cpu
    2 cpu
    3 cpu
    4 cpu

    and so on things will only get higher

    8 Cores will max out at 800%

    and when 16 cores come round the corner 1600% lol but by then i hope they sort it out and put it all into 1 100% just to make sense
     
  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    not always some programs are not 2 cpu aware
     
  7. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #7
    Yep, this is correct. My old dual processor Power Mac did this and so does my current Mac mini Core Duo.
     
  8. EricChunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    and i bet ur mac mini outperform you beloved power mac :D
     
  9. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #9
    As many people pointed out, since you have 2 cpu's your computer's CPU will max out at 200%. But what's worrying me is why an application such as VLC would take as much CPU as this...!
     
  10. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #10
    Yes, the Mac mini is quite a bit faster. The Power Mac was only a Dual 867.
     
  11. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    Hmm good question. I find that VLC locks up a lot, although it could be because I have insufficient RAM, (512MB in a MB). If I click on a VLC file on the desktop before VLC is running, it can cause real problems, (slowdowns, maxing out the cpu's etc). However, if I open VLC first, and then drag and drop the file in it seems to run ok. Like I said, I hope that this is just a RAM issue that will be fixed when I upgrade. :p
     

Share This Page