1920x1200 LCD running at 1600x1200

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by crazzyeddie, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #1
    If you buy an LCD with a native resolution of 1920x1200 and you have apps that will only run at the standard 1600x1200 4:3 ratio, will the LCD have that weird scaling distortion or simply not display any information (black sidebars) on both sides of the image. Specifically, I'm looking to get one of those Dell 24" LCDs but I'm worried about games that don't support widescreen resolutions.
     
  2. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #2
    Often you get black bars at the side of the screen. If you can live with that then go for it.
     
  3. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #3
    If I play doom 3 at 800x600 on my 20" apple widescreen I am given the option of playing in a window (actual pixels), playing full screen (black bars), or playing stretched full screen (very slightly distorted, but fills the screen really well)
     
  4. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #4
    On my 20" DELL 2005FPW I get three options in the menu:

    1:1: Display "as-is". You'd get black bars to the left and right. (and below and above if you were running, say, 1024x768). Games running in 640x480 look really tiny :D

    Fill: Will fill the screen completely. Everything will be stretched and look a little bit funny.

    Aspect: Kinda like Fill, but will keep the aspect ratio (and you'll probably end up with black bars on the left and right, but not bottom and top).

    I figure it's the same on the 24" version.
     
  5. crazzyeddie thread starter macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    Ah, thats quite awesome. Thanks so much guys.
     
  6. crazzyeddie thread starter macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    Just to clarify, how do you set those options on the Apple display? Unless I'm mistaken the Apple has no settings on the monitor itself (other than brightness.
     
  7. crazzyeddie thread starter macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
  9. kant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    #9
    If you're talking about a Dell 2005fpw, use the settings button (middle one), arrow down and select "image settings", arrow down to the "scaling".
     
  10. crazzyeddie thread starter macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #10
    Im specifically referring to the Apple displays. On my Powerbook, it only shows standard options (such as 1024x768) in games, I can't seem to control if that ends up boxed in the middle or stretched.
     

Share This Page