1920x1200 output from MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by storage, May 24, 2006.

  1. storage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #1
    I'm wondering if it's possible to hook a MacBook (1.83 GHz, 2 GB ram) to a 1920x1200 display using the mini-DVI port, or if the graphics and effects of Mac OS X will get all choppy and stuff (for example the dock and dashboard). Is the GMA950 able to render all these effects on such a big display area?

    I searched around the forums, but I couldn't find any other topic relating to this, if there is one that I didn't find, I apologize for this.

    Thanks in advance :).
     
  2. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #2
    As it shows in Apple's specs list, you can run up to 1920x1200 digital pixels through DVI, and 2048x1536 analog pixels through VGA. See my sig for my specs, but I ran a 1600x1200 screen through VGA, and no problems. You should be great off. With 2 GB RAM, this stuff will own!:D
     
  3. storage thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #3
    Thanks :). When you had it hooked up to the 1600x1200 display, you didn't feel any "choppyness"?

    I'm ordering my MacBook sooooon! Can't wait :).
     
  4. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #4
    Nothing at all. It worked perfect, and I have also seen it hooked up to a 20" ACD in an Apple Store. No probs. I envy you if it's a 23" ACD yous gonna hook it up to...:rolleyes:
     
  5. storage thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #5
    I'm afraid it's not a 23" ACD :(. It's a Dell 2405FPW, got it cheap so I guess it's alright :p.
     
  6. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #6
    Curse ye! Traitor!:mad:

    Njah, j/k. As long as you don't get no heck dell pc, you'll be fine.:p
     
  7. storage thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for your help Josias :). And no, I've never owned a Dell PC :p. Has anyone else tried hooking the MacBook up to a "bigger" display? I want to be 100% sure the 'Book is able to drive the display. I would be so depressed if I bought one and the graphics weren't 100% smooth :(.
     
  8. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #8
    Yeah, that would be sad. I am considering getting a DVI adapter for my MB, so I can hook it up to our 26" HDTV!:cool:

    (I know it says in my sig that I have a 28" normal TV, but that is in my room, the HD is in the living room)
     
  9. storage thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #9
    Sorry for bumping this old(?) thread of mine. But I'm still not sure the GMA950 will be able to run Exposé and Dashboard smoothly, for example.

    Anyone with a MacBook hooked up to a 23" ACD or 24" Dell who could tell me how it works? Is everything smooth? If it is, how much memory do you have? And is the memory matched?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  10. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #10
    It should do all 2D stuff just fine...only 3D that you'll see the chopping effects (Can't conform but strongly think so)
     
  11. storage thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #11
    Yeah, I know it won't work too well at all with 3D. Thanks for your answer though :).

    Anyone else who actually has a MacBook and a 23" ACD or 24" Dell? Or any other 1920x1200 display.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  12. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #13
    As long as you have 1.5 or 2 GB RAM, anything will run smoothly on the 23" ACD.
     

Share This Page